English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Wonderful! I too, would suggest to add more OJ than the recipe calls for. Keep adding little amounts until the mixture forms a dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very, very good scones. I increased the butter and oj to 8 TB of each and the dough was perfect. Added some finely chopped pecans and they were a big hit with the other moms at the playdate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
To me a traditional english scone is a little more flakey than this was. This had a funny texture more like a cake/cookie- I really think the odd texture came from the addition of extra orange juice. The mixture was very dry before adding the extra juice, so perhaps you could add extra butter instead to give it a better texture? It was good enough, but I wouldn't classify it as a scone & I certainly wouldn't serve it to royalty lol. I probably won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Omg! Now thats what I call a good scone. I did have to add more OJ till it turned in to batter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
very simple ans delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I lopve these! I have been making them awhile now and I have to say they are my fave! I follow the recipe exactly and they come out perfect and moist everytime! My kids love them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Great recipe! Made these this morning and already ate half the batch! I heeded the advice of previous reviewers and added a total of 8 tbs of OJ (after panicking when I noticed I wasn't getting any 'dough') and a total of 5 tbs butter. I decreased sugar to 1/4 cup. I added 2 tbs of wheat germ and can probably increase that next time. It's a great base recipe and I see myself making different variations for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
A friend originally gave me this recipe, and I'm glad to have found it here! I've made these many times, and they turn out nicely. I always recieve lots of compliments for these. The only drawback to these is that they sometimes turn out dry. I may experiment with some other scone recipes, but I'll most likely continue with this one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These scones are very yummy! I didn't have any OJ in the house so I substituted it with a mixture of 1/2 cup of milk and 1 egg and poured until it blended into a nice doughy texture. They still turned out fabulous! The mini chocolate chips are a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~La Bree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These were more like a sweetened biscuit. Not what I was expecting. They are not flaky at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States