English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Not again. I also had to adjust the recipe and what I got turned out more like a muffin. Sorry, I like them to work as written and as written I had a bowl of flour that just would not hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Orange juice makes this taste great! Not floury tasting like some scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I went to a restaurant with my daughter and had scones and we loved them, so we decided to try to make them. This recipe tasted even better than the ones at the restaurant! My only suggestion to whoever makes this, is to add cinnamon for an even better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were very good. I added the extra butter and OJ that other people suggested. I think I probably added too much OJ because they ended up more like cookies than scones. I also used an almond and toffee chocolate bar, chopped into chunks. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My friends and I really enjoyed these scones! I added an extra 3T of butter to get the mixture more crumbly (and because I prefer to use the whole stick). I only had 2T left of orange juice, so I used an extra 2T of milk and they were perfect. The dough should seem a little dry- after all, they're scones. The recipe did make 12 scones, but they were pretty small. Were fantastic with some raspberry preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My 14 year old daughter made these for 4-H and took them to the county fair....PURPLE RIBBON! She did use 1/2 cup orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Yum and used sunny d.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I am giving this 3 stars because I thought it was a little bland and if I were to make this again I would add something else...I am going to play around with some flavors. I also had to add a 1 tblsp more butter and added more milk...I had no orange juice and I don't think I would have liked these if I added it. On another note my 2 1/2 year old liked them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This has become my most complimented scone recipe! I followed the advice of others and usually end up adding about 7-8 TB of orange juice. They are so easy and turn out delicious! I add some sugar in the raw to the top before baking to jazz it up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was good!! will make again but I subbed blueberries and milk for choc chips and oj!!! SOO Good and I even froze a batch for my husband so he has some snacks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

Displaying results 111-120 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States