English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My 14 year old daughter made these for 4-H and took them to the county fair....PURPLE RIBBON! She did use 1/2 cup orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Yum and used sunny d.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I am giving this 3 stars because I thought it was a little bland and if I were to make this again I would add something else...I am going to play around with some flavors. I also had to add a 1 tblsp more butter and added more milk...I had no orange juice and I don't think I would have liked these if I added it. On another note my 2 1/2 year old liked them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This has become my most complimented scone recipe! I followed the advice of others and usually end up adding about 7-8 TB of orange juice. They are so easy and turn out delicious! I add some sugar in the raw to the top before baking to jazz it up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was good!! will make again but I subbed blueberries and milk for choc chips and oj!!! SOO Good and I even froze a batch for my husband so he has some snacks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Add coconut for a different twist! Everybody loved these scones! They were a huge hit - even on day 2! I also used 8 Tablespoons of OJ and 6-7 T of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I added just a couple of teaspoons more of orange juice, and I used *mandarin* orange juice. I make this often for my Harry Potter fan group and they are gone before I can blink! I always end up wishing I'd made a third batch for myself and my family! Also, this is a nice project to do with a teen. My (much) younger sister likes making these with me - we're covered in flour before we're through, but it's fun and the results are delicious. Definitely the best scones I've ever had - a surprisingly sweet, flavorful version of a snack that is sometimes boring and dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I played around with this recipe a bit. I added 1/2 tb of vanilla extract and added 2 additional tbs of oj. I also used 2 tb of apple sauce and 3 tb of butter just to cut down on the fat. I also added 2 tbs of unsweetened cocoa powder and added 1/3 cup splenda baking sugar instead of real sugar. I did this this to save on calories. Even with all the modifications this recipe is still top notch. on of the best out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yum!
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I added more OJ and butter like the other reviews suggested (otherwise I wouldn't have a dough, just a floury mess!) and the texture turned out awesome. But since I used so much more juice, it definitely left a "fruity" note in the scones that I didn't really care for. I might try this again using milk in place of some of the juice, but otherwise, I wouldn't make this again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because I'm going to have to work with it. The dough was just too dry as written. Next time, I'm going to try adding more butter to get a flakier texture and a little more liquid to get the dough to hold together as others have suggested. I set it up in my customized recipes so I can track my versions until its where I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States