English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
It's amazing how dry this recipe is. I added extra OJ and milk and it came out okay. Also needed a little extra baking time. I find it hard to believe that anyone can make this recipe as it is stated and have an edible scone. Next time I will use yogurt in the recipe, which is how I usually make scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
These were the best scones I have ever had! I was worried about using the orange juice, so I only used 2 tablespoons and the rest milk, and I did not get a fruity flavor at all. They just turned out flakey and DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The BEST scones ever. I doubled the recipe and made into traditional rounds, scored and sprinkled with sugar. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very good recipe, but I, like most others, had to do some minor tweaks to the recipe. I had to add about 12 tbsp. of butter, 7 tbsp. of orange juice, and I also added 1/2 tbsp. of vanilla extract. I also added extra chocolate chips because you can never have enough chocolate! Overall a great recipe that I will definitely be repeating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
All cooks are jazz musicians or, if you prefer, experimental chemists; they get a good recipe and start improvising. I love this recipe. It works well with the orange juice but also I've used fat-free half and half (almost a half cup, I think) for the liquid. The basic recipe gives you a good scone to which I have added raisins, chips and nuts- all wonderful. I mix the dough with my hands (after it's been moistened enough) and just put rounded blobs of the dough on the cookie sheet. I usually sift all ingredients when I cook but NOT for scones or muffins- one wants the rough quality for them. They bake up very well. Outside they are slightly hard and a bit crispy, inside, dense and fluffy (really, they're both.) Very good recipe. Thank you so much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ann Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The whole family gobbled these up with butter for breakfast. This is my new favorite scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I did change a few things. I used 1 stick margarine, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, and 5 tablespoons orange juice, and used the bigger chocolate chips. It turned out lovely. New breakfast item in our house. My son had to make scones for his culture project on Ireland. He loved them so much, he came home and and made another batch so he could have some for snack and breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
These were delicious. I never made scones before but had a craving for them! (Don't ask.) I didn't have any orange juice so I juiced an orange and used that. Had to add a bit more water to make it work and then had to bake them about 10 minutes longer. Was that because I added too much water? Also, I made these in the food processor which was amazingly easy. DELICIOUS. I rolled in a circle and scored in 8 pieces. They look like a bakery product and...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Kovach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were just ok for my husband and I. I did use lemon curd on them and loved it. Added 8 T of butter and oj, but was still very dry and as a result I over mixed, making scones a bit tough. Not the best scone I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States