English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Great scones! I add an extra 5 Tb. of juice (for a total of 8), 3 extra Tb. of butter (for a total of a whole stick of butter), and have used multiple kinds of chips, though chocolate definitely works best. The chocolate chips can be big or small, it really doesn't matter, I used chunks in them this morning and they were fabulous! Also, if you don't have orange juice on hand, I have substituted grapefruit juice with no problems, and no change to the taste of the recipe. Oh, and I don't roll the dough, I just make a nice circle about 6" diameter, and then cut it into 8 pieces, like a pizza. Bakes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I had to bake breakfast goodies for a group of 25 people every day for a week. I brought some fantastic yeast cinnamon rolls and a large variety of these scones. The cinnamon rolls lasted several days, but the scones were picked off at the end of every single day. And people requested the scones again and again. When I made them according to the recipe, I thought they were too dry, so I finally settled on the 8T of butter, and 8T of orange juice that others recommended. They were sticky, but I just added a dusting of flower to make them easier to handle. I mixed them by hand originally, but got lazy and began using my food processor, which chopped up the chocolate chips into smaller pieces. Several people noted they liked the chopped chips version better. Great for me--they are less work! But this recipe is a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a wonderful recipie. My husband and I are currently living in Japan and do not have a starbucks near by. So i make these for my husband instead, and shape them into triangles like they do at the coffee shop. I omit the orange juice and replace with vanilla. These are so yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These scones tasted wonderful and their texture was so fluffy and soft! But just like everyone else said, it's gonna need a few more tablespoons of orange juice. I added a teaspoon of milk as well. Don't be worried about the orange taste if you add more. It's not even noticeable. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Like many others mentioned, I had to add some extra orange juice, but these are awesome! Super easy to make, as a college student low on cooking equipment I usually just squish the butter in with my hands rather than cutting, I've found this works better than a fork. My roommates always try to eat them all before I can get any! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
It's amazing how dry this recipe is. I added extra OJ and milk and it came out okay. Also needed a little extra baking time. I find it hard to believe that anyone can make this recipe as it is stated and have an edible scone. Next time I will use yogurt in the recipe, which is how I usually make scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
These were the best scones I have ever had! I was worried about using the orange juice, so I only used 2 tablespoons and the rest milk, and I did not get a fruity flavor at all. They just turned out flakey and DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The BEST scones ever. I doubled the recipe and made into traditional rounds, scored and sprinkled with sugar. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very good recipe, but I, like most others, had to do some minor tweaks to the recipe. I had to add about 12 tbsp. of butter, 7 tbsp. of orange juice, and I also added 1/2 tbsp. of vanilla extract. I also added extra chocolate chips because you can never have enough chocolate! Overall a great recipe that I will definitely be repeating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States