English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I have made this recipe many times over the past 5 years. I've tried a lot of other scone recipes, but we always keep coming back to this one, it is definitely the family favorite. I've noticed that sometimes I need to add a little extra orange juice, depending on the humidity. Thank you so much for the recipe, it is a lovely treat for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I used a whole stick of butter (8 tbs) which helped tremendously. Also, I didn't have OJ in the house, so I used V8 Fusion Tropical Orange Juice. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. I flattened the dough out into a square, 1/2 inch thick, and cut it with a pastry scraper into 12 little squares. Turned out yummy! The only reason why I gave it 4 instead of 5 is not based on taste- its because I like my scones with some volume, while these were pretty flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenHCampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Great scones! I add an extra 5 Tb. of juice (for a total of 8), 3 extra Tb. of butter (for a total of a whole stick of butter), and have used multiple kinds of chips, though chocolate definitely works best. The chocolate chips can be big or small, it really doesn't matter, I used chunks in them this morning and they were fabulous! Also, if you don't have orange juice on hand, I have substituted grapefruit juice with no problems, and no change to the taste of the recipe. Oh, and I don't roll the dough, I just make a nice circle about 6" diameter, and then cut it into 8 pieces, like a pizza. Bakes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I had to bake breakfast goodies for a group of 25 people every day for a week. I brought some fantastic yeast cinnamon rolls and a large variety of these scones. The cinnamon rolls lasted several days, but the scones were picked off at the end of every single day. And people requested the scones again and again. When I made them according to the recipe, I thought they were too dry, so I finally settled on the 8T of butter, and 8T of orange juice that others recommended. They were sticky, but I just added a dusting of flower to make them easier to handle. I mixed them by hand originally, but got lazy and began using my food processor, which chopped up the chocolate chips into smaller pieces. Several people noted they liked the chopped chips version better. Great for me--they are less work! But this recipe is a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a wonderful recipie. My husband and I are currently living in Japan and do not have a starbucks near by. So i make these for my husband instead, and shape them into triangles like they do at the coffee shop. I omit the orange juice and replace with vanilla. These are so yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These scones tasted wonderful and their texture was so fluffy and soft! But just like everyone else said, it's gonna need a few more tablespoons of orange juice. I added a teaspoon of milk as well. Don't be worried about the orange taste if you add more. It's not even noticeable. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Like many others mentioned, I had to add some extra orange juice, but these are awesome! Super easy to make, as a college student low on cooking equipment I usually just squish the butter in with my hands rather than cutting, I've found this works better than a fork. My roommates always try to eat them all before I can get any! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
It's amazing how dry this recipe is. I added extra OJ and milk and it came out okay. Also needed a little extra baking time. I find it hard to believe that anyone can make this recipe as it is stated and have an edible scone. Next time I will use yogurt in the recipe, which is how I usually make scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
These were the best scones I have ever had! I was worried about using the orange juice, so I only used 2 tablespoons and the rest milk, and I did not get a fruity flavor at all. They just turned out flakey and DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The BEST scones ever. I doubled the recipe and made into traditional rounds, scored and sprinkled with sugar. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States