English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I like this recipe. It is simple with few ingredients. It comes out tasty. I pretty much follow the recipe as it is and maybe add just a bit more OJ, but I do like my scones crumbly so I try not to over moisten it. It does help if you use your hands to mix the dough then you wind up needing less OJ or Butter. I gave it four stars because it is not the absolute best tasting scone I've ever had, just above average. However, the easy of making it makes it a good recipe for me and you can also add other ingredients if you like such as chopped nuts or fruit. I also do not go through the whole rolling the dough and the cookie cutter. I just pat them down on the backing sheet into relatively the same size and thickness as described in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RichM
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was really a fun, easy recipe for me to use. That being said, I recommend using more orange juice than the recommended amount. Everything else seemed to fall into place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donita Curnutt
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Halved the recipe, substituted dried apricots for chocolate chips. Took others advice and added orange zest and additional orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donita Curnutt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariana
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
As suggested I used 8 tbsp of butter and about 8 tbsp of orange juice. instead of chocolate chips I used milk chocolate bar that I cut into small squares and also fresh squeezed my orange juice. I also grated my butter and left in the freezer while prepping the rest of the recipe. Oh my! It was the best scone I have ever had! Who knew scones could be even more amazing then the ones I usually get at bakeries.. My husband didin't like scones just till now! He loved it!It was flaky and crispy on the outside and warm and fluffy inside!! The orange juice really did add a magical flavor. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
SO GOOD! The dough seemed a little dry so I added a splash of lemon juice. We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
When I made the modifications suggested above (i.e., used 8 ounces of juice and 8 ounces of butter), the batter/dough become a bit too moist to handle. My trusty muffin pan saved the day. I put the dough into cupcake liners and baked it for about 16 minutes. The flavor and texture was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Used approximately 8oz. of orange juice and some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I gave this recipe 3 stars, because it did not come out in a scone consistency. It was more like a muffin top. This was probably from all the extra oj I used to get it into a batter. The way it came was before adding extra oj was very powdery. I will say though taste wise it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So yummy. Since I'm gluten intolerant, made these with gluten free flour mix, added some spices, and like others increased butter & OJ (plus a tiny bit of almond milk). Turned out wonderfully, finally, baked goods I can eat! Had them with butter, strawberry jam and coffee for my Sunday breakfast. Will be my go-to recipe since you can change the recipe up so easily - hmm maple walnut, chocolate cherry, cranberry orange, lemon almond, too many choices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used extra butter and orange juice like other reviewers suggested. Used ghiradelli milk chocolate chips and chopped them up and of course used more. Turned out super moist. Was worried they would be too orange tasting but they weren't at all. Next time I may add a little milk instead of more oj. Great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States