English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
They were definitely tasty but I'm giving it only 4 stars b/c it was slightly too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe does not call for enough liquid, I added enough orange juice to suffice. I used orange/mango juice and it was a nice addition to the choc. chips. My family loved these and they are quick and easy to make. We enjoy scones with coffee almost every morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
2 out of 3 of us thought these are ok but nothing special. Hubby won't eat them. They'd probably be better with fruit and nuts- this from a chocoholic! Texture was good, was the taste that wasn't the best. There are better recipes on this site... went with 6 T's OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KungFuJimmyChoo
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I really dislike baking so if I put the effort into it I don't like to be disappointed with the results. I was very pleased with these yummy scones - not too bland, not too sweet. I did add quite a bit more OJ than the recipe calls for so I could get the dough to a consistency that was workable for me, probably about a third of a cup. the orange flavor was still a bit mild for me. next time I'll also add some orange zest or extract. I'm lazy when it comes to baking so I cut into wedges, which I prefer anyway, rather than doing the whole biscuit cutter thing and baked for 14 minutes. Sprinkled the tops with a bit of sugar after taking them out of the oven and they were DEEE-Lish! I was supposed to take them into work the next day, but I didn't want to share. I lied and said I forgot them on the counter then ate the rest when i got home. I hope none of my co-workers read this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KungFuJimmyChoo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Made for Christmas 2010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe and very tasty! I made these when the BF had a friend over. He said "what are scones?" and I told him that they are in between biscuits and cookies. That's very true with this! I added orange zest to the dough. I also cut into triangles- and added enough orange juice to make a dough- as other people. I made a glaze for some of orange juice and powdered sugar. All in all they were very tasty with a nice orange chocolate taste. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I think it could have been more tender. Not sure how that could have been done- but I like a more tender almost fluffy scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great recipe with some modifications. I used 8 Tbsp of butter and quite a bit more orange juice than called for, though just enough to bring it together as a dry dough. I also added about 1 Tbsp of orange zest for flavor. The texture was very flaky and the orange flavor was subtle but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Love these!! I don't change a thing. Though I notice I never get 12 scones out of the batter. More like 8-9. I like to add toffee bits to the mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Like most other reviewers, I found the mixture too dry to hold together. I used 8 T. butter (salted since it's all I had), 10 T. orange juice, and a little over 1/4 tsp. salt. I patted the dough into the 9" circle and cut it into 12 triangles. I had to bake it 22 minutes. Delicious flavor with just a hint of the orange. I see this as a very flexible recipe that I can use with cranberries, blueberries, or any other add-in that I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsmith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States