English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Loved these scones. So simple to make and no off beat ingredients. Did use 6TBSP of O.J. instead of three and 8 TBSP of butter instead of five. Still looked a little dry but did hold together and were not dry in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I did like it very much. My hubby and son thought they were perfectly sweet with a great texture. HOWEVER - I did do a few things sorta differently due to ingredients and prior scone making experience - 8Tbspn of butter (if salted, reduce the salt in recipe by 1/2) cut into pea size chunks and 'pinched' into the flour mixture by hand. Then I used semi sweet chocolate chopped coarsely instead of chips and used 4Tbspn of OJ AND 3 TBspn of 1/2 & 1/2 or heavy cream. Made a large round circle and cut into triangles and separated before baking. YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is a horrible recipe. The liquid measure is way too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I altered this recipe based on the suggestions of a former reviewer, Trina, as she had given this recipe a 5-star rating. She suggested increasing the butter to 8 TBSP., OJ to 8 TBSP., and included the zest of half an orange. It was awesome. I enjoy the orange scones from Panera. This recipe is wonderful and almost identical to Panera's if you leave out the chocolate chips and make the changes I have included. I also created an orange glaze for the scones. This scone recipe is a great base for variations of flavors. One of the best recipes I have accessed from the Internet and was not disappointed in the least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheChe
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great Scones! Like most of the reviews mention, I did have to double the OJ. I also added orange zest and 1 table spoon of cointreau (keeping with orange theme).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I love these, they have been coming out great every time. I am still working on perfecting them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I loved this recipe so easy to make! If anything water needs to be added slowly, to form a dough. It will depend where you live, due to the moisture where I live in South Florida. I also made this recipe, for my class project for Food and Beverage Management Class at AIFL in the Culinary Department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnychicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These are fabulous! I've never made scones before and I'm so glad they aren't brick-like. In spite of my worries I decided they were worth a shot and I'm so glad I made them. I added the juice of two small oranges and some zest since the dough was very dry. Since I've never made scones, I didn't know if I was just supposed to work with the dough and that it would still work out, but I simply added more juice. I also added some sliced almonds because I wanted some protein in them. This is a very good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe was lovely! The only thing that I would say is you are going to have to add more orange juice than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Dough was difficult to work with. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States