English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mariana
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
As suggested I used 8 tbsp of butter and about 8 tbsp of orange juice. instead of chocolate chips I used milk chocolate bar that I cut into small squares and also fresh squeezed my orange juice. I also grated my butter and left in the freezer while prepping the rest of the recipe. Oh my! It was the best scone I have ever had! Who knew scones could be even more amazing then the ones I usually get at bakeries.. My husband didin't like scones just till now! He loved it!It was flaky and crispy on the outside and warm and fluffy inside!! The orange juice really did add a magical flavor. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
SO GOOD! The dough seemed a little dry so I added a splash of lemon juice. We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
When I made the modifications suggested above (i.e., used 8 ounces of juice and 8 ounces of butter), the batter/dough become a bit too moist to handle. My trusty muffin pan saved the day. I put the dough into cupcake liners and baked it for about 16 minutes. The flavor and texture was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Used approximately 8oz. of orange juice and some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I gave this recipe 3 stars, because it did not come out in a scone consistency. It was more like a muffin top. This was probably from all the extra oj I used to get it into a batter. The way it came was before adding extra oj was very powdery. I will say though taste wise it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So yummy. Since I'm gluten intolerant, made these with gluten free flour mix, added some spices, and like others increased butter & OJ (plus a tiny bit of almond milk). Turned out wonderfully, finally, baked goods I can eat! Had them with butter, strawberry jam and coffee for my Sunday breakfast. Will be my go-to recipe since you can change the recipe up so easily - hmm maple walnut, chocolate cherry, cranberry orange, lemon almond, too many choices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used extra butter and orange juice like other reviewers suggested. Used ghiradelli milk chocolate chips and chopped them up and of course used more. Turned out super moist. Was worried they would be too orange tasting but they weren't at all. Next time I may add a little milk instead of more oj. Great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have always wanted to make scones but felt intimidated. This recipe seemed so easy so I gave it a try. It was easy and yummy too. I only got 9 scones out of the recipe, not sure why, and I ended up using the juice of 2 oranges. Next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My kids favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lancelynx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I am not sure IF and what my son did wrong with the recipe, but I ended up adding another tbsp. of butter and an extra tbsp. of milk (we used milk instead of OJ). I absolutely loved the scones. I really look forward to trying it with some cranberries and white chocolate chips OR even adding pecans to this recipe. Also, I used a small Pampered Chef rolling pin and pressed the dough into a 9x9 glass dish. I cut it into quarters, then cut three triangles into each quarter. I took the triangles out and placed them on a greased cookie sheet. It was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States