English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is a SUPERB recipe! I made the suggested changes of adding 8Tb OJ and 8Tb butter and orange zest from 1/2 an orange...and instead of using a biscuit cutter, I just flattened the dough to 3/4" instead of a 1/2" and cut into triangles. I ended up with 8 good sized scones so I increased the baking time by 3-4 minutes. They were awesome tasting- the zest really brings up the orange taste up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Yummy!! Like everyone else I had to use way more orange juice (I didn't keep track of how much just kept adding until it seemed right). I also used chocolate chunks and it ended up tasting just the chocolate scones at Starbucks. Now I can save my $1.50 and just make them at home - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Delish!!! (Just keep adding OJ little by little until it forms a dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Quite good.I didn't add more OJ to the mix, but I did add an additional 2 T of butter. I pack and form mine by hand (no pin, no cutter), so the dough is plenty moist for my liking. Try it this way if you like a more traditional (drier - more bisuit than muffin, but not a cookie) scone. They do a wonderful job of soaking up coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Very flavorful and sweet compared to many scone recipes I've tried. It's great for the sweet tooth, almost more like a chocolate chip bread than a scone. I used 1/2 c. orange juice and I also mixed an egg with the milk, because the dough was quite dry. Also sprinkled coarse sugar on top. Sweet-crazy coworkers loved it - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I also used 8TBS of OJ and the scones turned out great! Next time I will try cranberries for a festive holiday scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I absolutely loved these scones! They tasted wonderful. I also added more orange juice (about 8 more tablespoons) because the dough was a little dry. I also added a few more tablespoons of butter. It was very delicious. Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
These were amazing! I substituted a dried fruit mix for the chips and they turned out great! They were gobbled up right away and I've been asked to make more. Thank you for this wonderfully easy and delicious recipe! (do need to add more oj though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Dulcari is my sis, she made this for me while I was visiting her. Yummy! I am making these for our holiday exchange of baked goods at work, and they can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was good!! will make again but I subbed blueberries and milk for choc chips and oj!!! SOO Good and I even froze a batch for my husband so he has some snacks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States