English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Amazing! I followed the directions exactly and had no problems, although bakers should note that after adding the OJ, you have to use your hands to mix and form the dough. To keep your scones light and flaky, mix quickly and not too much - the heat of your hands melts the butter and makes the dough heavy. The husband and kids ate these up in just two days and have begged for more. I'm not usually a baker, so I was highly impressed this recipe made be look so accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Used lemon juice instead of the orange juice...outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These were delicious! I was expecting more orange flavor, though. Next time I'll add some orange zest, I think. I also sprinkled them with sugar and almonds before baking. I used a pizza cutter to cut them after I patted the dough in a circle to make equal biscuits! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I just made these this afternoon and they are excellent! I substituted the chocolate chips for some orange flavored dried cranberries I had on hand from Trader Joe's. They worked perfectly with the orange juice in this recipe. I did as others suggested and added 2 Tbs butter and increased the orange juice to about 7 Tbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Delicious. It does take more than 3T of OJ to make the dough. I didn't roll out and cut out.. just rolled into balls and flattened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Easy and delicious! I also found that I needed to add 8 tablespoons of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Baked up beautifully! Wish I had added more butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
They were definitely tasty but I'm giving it only 4 stars b/c it was slightly too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe does not call for enough liquid, I added enough orange juice to suffice. I used orange/mango juice and it was a nice addition to the choc. chips. My family loved these and they are quick and easy to make. We enjoy scones with coffee almost every morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
2 out of 3 of us thought these are ok but nothing special. Hubby won't eat them. They'd probably be better with fruit and nuts- this from a chocoholic! Texture was good, was the taste that wasn't the best. There are better recipes on this site... went with 6 T's OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States