English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Used more butter and oj to get the right consistency. I halved the recipe, cut them into triangles and had 6 delicious scones. Used my food processor was very easy. Next time I will top them with cinnamon and sugar and put in more orange zest. I will be making these scones again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Excellent! I did the recommended changes to 5 T. butter and doubling the orange juice and it turned out great! I also didn't have chocolate chips so used coconut instead and will definitely use this recipes again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I had high hopes for these scones. I'd intended to make them for a Valentine themed brunch, but time got away from me and I wasn't able to. As it turns out, that was a blessing. I've made several kinds of scones in the past, and I was concerned when I saw that the recipe didn't call for any cream or eggs. All my other scones were light and almost puffy. These stayed the same size and seemed dense and flavor-less. Like other reviewers, I had to add WAY more OJ to get the dough to come together, probably due to the lack of cream and eggs. I think I ended up using almost 2 cups! I won't be making these again. If anyone is looking for a good scone recipe, try the Barefoot Contessa (Ina Garten). You can't go wrong with hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Made these and they were delicious, but when does a recipes become a totally different recipe! I mean if you have to add that much more orange juice and butter to even get the dough to form, aren't you making a whole new recipe..I made these without reading the reviews and when I added the OJ I quickly realized there must be a problem. I will use this again, but will "rewrite" it so it can be easily followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These are wonderful! I didn't have orange juice so I used milk (I also added more butter). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were incredibly easy to make, although I did have to double the orange juice like many other reviewers mentioned. Warm out of the oven I did not care for these very much, but the next day I thought they were pretty good! Thanks for sharing this recipe Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very very VERY yummy scone recipe. I put 8 Tb of butter and 8 Tb of orange juice to moisten the recipe up a bit. Also added orange zest of half an orange, just like Trina suggested. I rolled the dough to about 1/2" and cut into triangles. Sprinkled a little sugar on top before putting in the oven. My husband and I LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have made these for years. Very good! I also make these by using the juice of one lemon and its zest instead of the OJ. I think I've come to like the lemon better. I've also begun to add a few pinches of sugar on top before baking.... YUMMO!!But it's what ever you like. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Amazing. I was intimidated at first, since I've never made a scone before. BUT, this is super easy and delicious. Followed advice and used 8 tbsp of OJ and 8 tbsp of salted butter (and omitted salt from recipe). I also made a simple orange glaze (1 cup powdered sugar/1.5 tbsp OJ) and drizzled it on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am a scone snob and have been using the same recipe for years! After making these for my family last night, I have thrown my old recipe away. These are amazing. Light and flaky but rich and moist at the same time. I added 2 Tbsp more orange juice until I got the consistency I was happy with. Can't wait to make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States