English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This would have worked out better had I read the reviews before hand, the recipe as stated does not have nearly enough liquid to allow the dry ingredients to come together. Because I was adjusting the amount of liquid so much, the biscuit-style dough ended up being a bit tough. These are almost too sweet, I may also reduce the amount of sugar next time. I will have to make them again because my wife loves them and I may have to hide them if I want any! I used a pastry knife to cut the disk into square pieces, which gives nice browned corners. I have since tried this using 8 tbsp (1/2 cup) each of butter and water (which works if you don't have orange juice handy), cutting into squares as before. This batch turned out much better and made a lot less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this recipe is absolutely delicious. i use 1 stick of butter, added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and used 5 tablespoons of almond milk and also used dark chocolate chip and peanut butter chip and it came out so delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
These are perfect! I used this recipe because I didnt have buttermilk and now its one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
We adjusted to 8tbs of butter and 8tbs of OJ as suggested and the scones turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Used more butter and oj to get the right consistency. I halved the recipe, cut them into triangles and had 6 delicious scones. Used my food processor was very easy. Next time I will top them with cinnamon and sugar and put in more orange zest. I will be making these scones again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Excellent! I did the recommended changes to 5 T. butter and doubling the orange juice and it turned out great! I also didn't have chocolate chips so used coconut instead and will definitely use this recipes again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I had high hopes for these scones. I'd intended to make them for a Valentine themed brunch, but time got away from me and I wasn't able to. As it turns out, that was a blessing. I've made several kinds of scones in the past, and I was concerned when I saw that the recipe didn't call for any cream or eggs. All my other scones were light and almost puffy. These stayed the same size and seemed dense and flavor-less. Like other reviewers, I had to add WAY more OJ to get the dough to come together, probably due to the lack of cream and eggs. I think I ended up using almost 2 cups! I won't be making these again. If anyone is looking for a good scone recipe, try the Barefoot Contessa (Ina Garten). You can't go wrong with hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Made these and they were delicious, but when does a recipes become a totally different recipe! I mean if you have to add that much more orange juice and butter to even get the dough to form, aren't you making a whole new recipe..I made these without reading the reviews and when I added the OJ I quickly realized there must be a problem. I will use this again, but will "rewrite" it so it can be easily followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These are wonderful! I didn't have orange juice so I used milk (I also added more butter). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were incredibly easy to make, although I did have to double the orange juice like many other reviewers mentioned. Warm out of the oven I did not care for these very much, but the next day I thought they were pretty good! Thanks for sharing this recipe Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States