English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Dough was difficult to work with. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I thought this was excellent! I made it two ways; Raspberry and white chocolate and COFFEE and chocolate chip. I mean, SO GOOD. Also, I did use the 8T butter and 8T OJ. Of course, I didn't use OJ in the coffee ones. I just used 8T of strong coffee, chilled instead. This makes a pretty flakey and slightly moist scone (but not like a muffin). If you like drier/crummy scones maybe "no" on the extra stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabethanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This would have worked out better had I read the reviews before hand, the recipe as stated does not have nearly enough liquid to allow the dry ingredients to come together. Because I was adjusting the amount of liquid so much, the biscuit-style dough ended up being a bit tough. These are almost too sweet, I may also reduce the amount of sugar next time. I will have to make them again because my wife loves them and I may have to hide them if I want any! I used a pastry knife to cut the disk into square pieces, which gives nice browned corners. I have since tried this using 8 tbsp (1/2 cup) each of butter and water (which works if you don't have orange juice handy), cutting into squares as before. This batch turned out much better and made a lot less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this recipe is absolutely delicious. i use 1 stick of butter, added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and used 5 tablespoons of almond milk and also used dark chocolate chip and peanut butter chip and it came out so delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
These are perfect! I used this recipe because I didnt have buttermilk and now its one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
We adjusted to 8tbs of butter and 8tbs of OJ as suggested and the scones turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Used more butter and oj to get the right consistency. I halved the recipe, cut them into triangles and had 6 delicious scones. Used my food processor was very easy. Next time I will top them with cinnamon and sugar and put in more orange zest. I will be making these scones again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Excellent! I did the recommended changes to 5 T. butter and doubling the orange juice and it turned out great! I also didn't have chocolate chips so used coconut instead and will definitely use this recipes again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I had high hopes for these scones. I'd intended to make them for a Valentine themed brunch, but time got away from me and I wasn't able to. As it turns out, that was a blessing. I've made several kinds of scones in the past, and I was concerned when I saw that the recipe didn't call for any cream or eggs. All my other scones were light and almost puffy. These stayed the same size and seemed dense and flavor-less. Like other reviewers, I had to add WAY more OJ to get the dough to come together, probably due to the lack of cream and eggs. I think I ended up using almost 2 cups! I won't be making these again. If anyone is looking for a good scone recipe, try the Barefoot Contessa (Ina Garten). You can't go wrong with hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Made these and they were delicious, but when does a recipes become a totally different recipe! I mean if you have to add that much more orange juice and butter to even get the dough to form, aren't you making a whole new recipe..I made these without reading the reviews and when I added the OJ I quickly realized there must be a problem. I will use this again, but will "rewrite" it so it can be easily followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States