English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This recipe is one of the best! I am not sure whether or not the orange juice is meant to be included in the ingreidients, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I think you "knead" to use common sense where the liquid is concerned. I only added 1-2 T of o-juice and it was a tad sticky to pat out. But the extra juice really punched up the orange flavor, a bit too much in my oppinion. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will add milk for any extra liquid. I also used a glass to cut out the scones. They were light and a little crumbly Thanks, Holly, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This was an okay recipe. It was a flop the first time I made it due to adding too much liquid per previous reviewers' suggestions. I ended up with decent results adding only 4 TBSP of liquid, but they still weren't as good as I was expecting. I'm still searching for that perfect scone recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Wow, these have to be the best scones I have ever had and the best part is that I made them! Well, thanks to this fantastic recipie! I did add about 9 tablespoons of OJ but otherwise I kept it the same! Awesome! Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
These are the best scones I've made yet! I used 8 Tbsp regular margarine and 12 Tbsp of orange juice (freshly squeezed). I patted the dough to 1/2" thick and scored it into 8 sections right on the cookie sheet. Lastly, I made an icing of powdered sugar, orange juice and a bit of corn starch for extra "yum factor." I lightly drizzled each scone with the mixture by letting it drip from a fork. These rocked! They are my husband's new favorite and they are "pretty" to boot! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I need to add 3T Sour Cream. Anyway I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I listened to the other reviewers and increased the OJ amount to 8 T. The scones came out perfectly fine, but no one was really thrilled about the flavor. And they were also a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Be sure to increase OJ! I used about 8T. I also shaped into two rounds and scored before baking - much easier and still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I made these this AM and think they are great!!! I DID however make some minor changes. After reading a lot of the reviews, I did alter the OJ and add some peel. To make them a little healthier for the 1 3/4 cups flour, combine a mixture of ground flaxseed and kamut flour. They have a great consistency and a nutty kind a flavor. I also melted some chocolate chips and piped in on the top. Yummy!!! Thanks for the base recipe, the OJ and chocolate are great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Great recipe, but the liquid measurement was way off. I had to add an extra tbsp of OJ and 2 tsp of milk, then the dough came together alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States