English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This was an okay recipe. It was a flop the first time I made it due to adding too much liquid per previous reviewers' suggestions. I ended up with decent results adding only 4 TBSP of liquid, but they still weren't as good as I was expecting. I'm still searching for that perfect scone recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Wow, these have to be the best scones I have ever had and the best part is that I made them! Well, thanks to this fantastic recipie! I did add about 9 tablespoons of OJ but otherwise I kept it the same! Awesome! Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
These are the best scones I've made yet! I used 8 Tbsp regular margarine and 12 Tbsp of orange juice (freshly squeezed). I patted the dough to 1/2" thick and scored it into 8 sections right on the cookie sheet. Lastly, I made an icing of powdered sugar, orange juice and a bit of corn starch for extra "yum factor." I lightly drizzled each scone with the mixture by letting it drip from a fork. These rocked! They are my husband's new favorite and they are "pretty" to boot! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I need to add 3T Sour Cream. Anyway I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I listened to the other reviewers and increased the OJ amount to 8 T. The scones came out perfectly fine, but no one was really thrilled about the flavor. And they were also a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Be sure to increase OJ! I used about 8T. I also shaped into two rounds and scored before baking - much easier and still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I made these this AM and think they are great!!! I DID however make some minor changes. After reading a lot of the reviews, I did alter the OJ and add some peel. To make them a little healthier for the 1 3/4 cups flour, combine a mixture of ground flaxseed and kamut flour. They have a great consistency and a nutty kind a flavor. I also melted some chocolate chips and piped in on the top. Yummy!!! Thanks for the base recipe, the OJ and chocolate are great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Great recipe, but the liquid measurement was way off. I had to add an extra tbsp of OJ and 2 tsp of milk, then the dough came together alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This came out yummy. My husband loved them. I used a total of 8 TBLSP of OJ-just an FYI. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I make these a lot. They are so simple and yummy. You should increase the OJ amount until all the dry good bond (usually 8-10 tbl)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States