English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Photo by misty_t75
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
My 10 year old daughter and I made this recipe. We used a couple of tips from "steelergirl05" and "Leslie30". We used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, added 1/2 tsp. of orange zest to the flour mixture, 2 Tbsp. of milk at the same time as adding the orange juice. We also added 1 Tbsp. of pure vanilla extract. When we rolled out the dough we cut it into 8 wedges. We will definately be making this again. We took a picture and are going to subit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Zushi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Not a fan. The chocolate chips covered up the classic scone taste. Overall though, very easy to make- no kneeding- and you can definately taste the orange essence as well. I used 1/3 cup regular sized chocolate chips- If I ever make again, I will use milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I'm not a baker, but these scones turned out really well. They had great taste, next time I will use milk chocolate chips. I also used a glass to cut out the scones as suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I think these were excellent, and the orange juice gave them lots of flavor. The only problem I found was that there didn't seem to be enough liquid and I had to add a little more then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
this scone recipe is off the charts for simplicity & deliciousness! minor changes: adding about 1/2 tsp. of orange zest into the flour mixture & later needing to blend in about 2 T. milk ~ just enough to bring the ingredients into a ball. if you like, try patting the dough into an 8" circle, with a sharp knife score the top into 4 or 6 wedges & bake for 18 minutes (or until golden brown). thank you holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
these are really simple and easy to make. I did substitute milk for the OJ. I used 4TBSP of milk and 8 TBSP of butter. I used regular size chips too. They are so tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This recipe is one of the best! I am not sure whether or not the orange juice is meant to be included in the ingreidients, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I think you "knead" to use common sense where the liquid is concerned. I only added 1-2 T of o-juice and it was a tad sticky to pat out. But the extra juice really punched up the orange flavor, a bit too much in my oppinion. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will add milk for any extra liquid. I also used a glass to cut out the scones. They were light and a little crumbly Thanks, Holly, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This was an okay recipe. It was a flop the first time I made it due to adding too much liquid per previous reviewers' suggestions. I ended up with decent results adding only 4 TBSP of liquid, but they still weren't as good as I was expecting. I'm still searching for that perfect scone recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Wow, these have to be the best scones I have ever had and the best part is that I made them! Well, thanks to this fantastic recipie! I did add about 9 tablespoons of OJ but otherwise I kept it the same! Awesome! Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States