English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great eggless scone recipe! OJ makes them nicely sweet and moist--definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These were fantastic! The first few bites seemed wierd but I became accustomed to the taste (orange and chocolate...). I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup regular flour. I found that I did have to add 2 tbsp. of liquid onto what the recipe called for. I tried to form into a ball before adding liquid to find that it didn't stick together at all. I also used milk chocolate chips, I don't buy semi-sweet. Wonderful recipe, one that I'll be using for a long time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I had to use a bit more juice than what the recipe called for, but with belgian chocolate chips, these scones were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misty_t75
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
My 10 year old daughter and I made this recipe. We used a couple of tips from "steelergirl05" and "Leslie30". We used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, added 1/2 tsp. of orange zest to the flour mixture, 2 Tbsp. of milk at the same time as adding the orange juice. We also added 1 Tbsp. of pure vanilla extract. When we rolled out the dough we cut it into 8 wedges. We will definately be making this again. We took a picture and are going to subit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Zushi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Not a fan. The chocolate chips covered up the classic scone taste. Overall though, very easy to make- no kneeding- and you can definately taste the orange essence as well. I used 1/3 cup regular sized chocolate chips- If I ever make again, I will use milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I'm not a baker, but these scones turned out really well. They had great taste, next time I will use milk chocolate chips. I also used a glass to cut out the scones as suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I think these were excellent, and the orange juice gave them lots of flavor. The only problem I found was that there didn't seem to be enough liquid and I had to add a little more then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
this scone recipe is off the charts for simplicity & deliciousness! minor changes: adding about 1/2 tsp. of orange zest into the flour mixture & later needing to blend in about 2 T. milk ~ just enough to bring the ingredients into a ball. if you like, try patting the dough into an 8" circle, with a sharp knife score the top into 4 or 6 wedges & bake for 18 minutes (or until golden brown). thank you holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
these are really simple and easy to make. I did substitute milk for the OJ. I used 4TBSP of milk and 8 TBSP of butter. I used regular size chips too. They are so tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This recipe is one of the best! I am not sure whether or not the orange juice is meant to be included in the ingreidients, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States