English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I made these this afternoon and my boyfriend and I ate them all. I added the zest of half of the orange and used 60% cocoa chips. They were delicious!! Will make again with apple and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
AWESOME! Needed something "old English" for a school project and these were a hit. Wasn't much of a scone fan before, but I will definitely be making these again! Only thing I found was that I needed a teensy bit more orange juice than it said to make it doughy enough to roll out, but it wasn't a big deal. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
My husband made these, so I'm not sure what exactly he did to fix the liquid amounts on these, but he said that there was not nearly enough liquid ingredients to stick everything together. I think he had to add a lot more orange juice and butter, but whatever he did turned out great and we gobbled these right up. He also added a little bit of shredded sweetened coconut. Good ingredient ideas, but recipe needs some tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
awesome recipe, I have used it several times and its the perfect tea time recipe :) You can replace the oranje juice with milk too, if you don't have any oranges. I also add some walnuts to spice this recipe up. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viña Del Mar, Valparaíso, Chile
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I was dubious of orange juice with chocolate chips, but wow, these were wonderful!! The texture is melt-in-your-mouth, and the orangey tang is unique. I measured the 3 tablespoons of juice, but then added enough to make a sticky ball. Fit for royalty indeed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I keep coming back to this recipe for some reason, even though it's not what you think a scone would taste like. I did have to add a few more tablespoons of butter and alot more OJ. The batter is way too sticky to roll out, so I like to just roll the batter into a ball and cook it more like a cookie. They come out yummy and plump. Also, I like to half the batter before adding the chocolate chips and either do raisins and cinnamon or blueberry. Of course I always have to make some with chocolate chips ! Overall, the batter is difficult but the taste makes up for the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These scones remind me of the ones from a certain gourmet coffee shop, but they came from my kitchen! I used shortening because that was what I had on hand, and I also needed extra liquid to make the dough. I'm thrilled with this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great eggless scone recipe! OJ makes them nicely sweet and moist--definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These were fantastic! The first few bites seemed wierd but I became accustomed to the taste (orange and chocolate...). I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup regular flour. I found that I did have to add 2 tbsp. of liquid onto what the recipe called for. I tried to form into a ball before adding liquid to find that it didn't stick together at all. I also used milk chocolate chips, I don't buy semi-sweet. Wonderful recipe, one that I'll be using for a long time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I had to use a bit more juice than what the recipe called for, but with belgian chocolate chips, these scones were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States