English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This one is very good. My little girl always wants those chocolate chip scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I too had to edit the recipe to: 8 TBSP butter, 6 TBSP orange juice + 2 TBSP skim milk (I ran out of orange juice), 1 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp orange zest. I also brushed milk on the unbaked scones & sprinkled with sugar. I rolled dough to 1/2" thick and made 8 scones. These are EXCELLENT and will definitely make again. The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars was because I had to edit the liquid & fat. Other than that, this is definitely a wonderful base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I make these time and time again. They are delicious. I even switch out the sugar for splenda and you can't even tell. Add a little more OJ to get the right texture. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I probably shouldn't rate this recipe considering I made a completely different variation, but because I followed a majority of the staple recipe and had it turn out great, I though I should comment anyway. The variation I did was lemon poppy seed scones, replacing the orange juice with lemon juice (next time I will add lemon zest or extract) and the chocolate chips with 2 tablespoons poppy seeds. I rolled it out with just my hands and used the top of a cup since I don't have any cookie cutters. This ended up making 20 bite-sized scones, (the top of the cup was fairly small) and I'm ashamed to say I ate half of them on the spot. It had a nice fluffy inside, not really scone like, but tasted really good. I replaced one of the tablespoons of butter with applesauce to make it healthier (i also used the smart start tub butter, and had no problems, and added a couple extra tablespoons of sugar to counteract the tartness of the lemon. I just cut in the butter with my fingers, and added the lemon juice as I went. I think I used about 5 tablespoons total. I will make many variations of this recipe, as it is both easier and healthier than most of the scone recipes out there. It was a little bit fluffier than other scones, but that was probably due to the adjustments I made. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I add a lot more chocolate--I chop up good quality bittersweet--and add more orange juice. Awesome scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These tasted good but ended up like rubber. I added more milk as some of the other reviews had said to do but still was not impressed. I like more of a biscuit-type scone I quess so I will keep looking for one like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
these were very good the only reason for the 4 star is the tinkering needed with the liquid. I added more oj to get the right consistancy, and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, some orange zest, and 60% cacao chips. I will give these as gifts they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZHARDIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Good recipe but as others have said, the quantities are a bit off. I used 8 tbsp butter and 6 tbsp milk (didn't think the kids would like it with orange juice, they can be fussy). Kids absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Love it! these scones taste great and it was so simple to make. I added a few more TBLS.'s of orange juice and then split the dough in half and added 1/4 c. of choc. chips to one half (HIS) and 1/4 c. of fresh blueberries to the other half (HERS). Seconds after tranferring them onto the cooling rack, my hubby and I enjoyed it with coffee. Yummy! I will make these again for my upcoming All Girls Tea Party. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Camp Foster, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe. I had not made scones before but they taste delicious. Did not have mini chips so used regular. Also took 6 Tbsp of orange juice and added a tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States