English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Nice recipe. I tried these scones about 5 years ago as the "first" scones I've ever made. Had difficulty working the dough and it was too dry, and like extra reviewers ended up adding a but more liquid - in my case 2 Tbs of heavy cream. Everythings better with heavy cream! At variouse times I've added a bit extra orange juice if I don't have cream. I tried the recipe with some of the added suggestions and was not impressed with the texture of the scones after adding more then 2Tbs or so extra liquid. A Tbs or two makes you able to pat the dough into a round, but it is still crumbly and can be hard to work with; however, this also gives you the wonderful flakey scones that I love. Adding additional liquid makes the scones easer to work with, less crumbly, but they also end up with the more biscuit like texture, which seems like a waste of all that careful cutting in of the butter. Both ways are quite edible and I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This one is very good. My little girl always wants those chocolate chip scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I too had to edit the recipe to: 8 TBSP butter, 6 TBSP orange juice + 2 TBSP skim milk (I ran out of orange juice), 1 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp orange zest. I also brushed milk on the unbaked scones & sprinkled with sugar. I rolled dough to 1/2" thick and made 8 scones. These are EXCELLENT and will definitely make again. The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars was because I had to edit the liquid & fat. Other than that, this is definitely a wonderful base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I make these time and time again. They are delicious. I even switch out the sugar for splenda and you can't even tell. Add a little more OJ to get the right texture. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I probably shouldn't rate this recipe considering I made a completely different variation, but because I followed a majority of the staple recipe and had it turn out great, I though I should comment anyway. The variation I did was lemon poppy seed scones, replacing the orange juice with lemon juice (next time I will add lemon zest or extract) and the chocolate chips with 2 tablespoons poppy seeds. I rolled it out with just my hands and used the top of a cup since I don't have any cookie cutters. This ended up making 20 bite-sized scones, (the top of the cup was fairly small) and I'm ashamed to say I ate half of them on the spot. It had a nice fluffy inside, not really scone like, but tasted really good. I replaced one of the tablespoons of butter with applesauce to make it healthier (i also used the smart start tub butter, and had no problems, and added a couple extra tablespoons of sugar to counteract the tartness of the lemon. I just cut in the butter with my fingers, and added the lemon juice as I went. I think I used about 5 tablespoons total. I will make many variations of this recipe, as it is both easier and healthier than most of the scone recipes out there. It was a little bit fluffier than other scones, but that was probably due to the adjustments I made. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I add a lot more chocolate--I chop up good quality bittersweet--and add more orange juice. Awesome scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These tasted good but ended up like rubber. I added more milk as some of the other reviews had said to do but still was not impressed. I like more of a biscuit-type scone I quess so I will keep looking for one like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
these were very good the only reason for the 4 star is the tinkering needed with the liquid. I added more oj to get the right consistancy, and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, some orange zest, and 60% cacao chips. I will give these as gifts they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZHARDIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Good recipe but as others have said, the quantities are a bit off. I used 8 tbsp butter and 6 tbsp milk (didn't think the kids would like it with orange juice, they can be fussy). Kids absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Love it! these scones taste great and it was so simple to make. I added a few more TBLS.'s of orange juice and then split the dough in half and added 1/4 c. of choc. chips to one half (HIS) and 1/4 c. of fresh blueberries to the other half (HERS). Seconds after tranferring them onto the cooling rack, my hubby and I enjoyed it with coffee. Yummy! I will make these again for my upcoming All Girls Tea Party. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Camp Foster, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States