English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Me and my friend made these one morning for my father, and ourselves, to enjoy... since we love scones so much. This was our first attempt at making them, and it was so enjoyable and easy! The orange juice didn't leave a very strong taste, but it did make it unique from any other scone I had tasted. Overall, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
After trying to find the best scones recipe for Christmas this year, this is it! Some recipes I've tried have been either too hard or too muffin-like, but this one is just right. I used dark chocolate chips and lactose-free margarine and they were delicious. I also brushed a bit of orange juice on the tops of the scones before I baked them. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smita
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Tried making these with 1 c ap flour and 3/4 c whole wheat flour; added fresh grated orange zest. Used finely chopped dark chocolate instead of chocolate chips. The scones are very good in terms of flavor: perfect balance of sweetness, chocolate and orange. I didn't quite get the texture right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very tasty and easy! Looking forward to my tea party tomorrow. Had to use more oj... maybe twice the amount...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Nice recipe. I tried these scones about 5 years ago as the "first" scones I've ever made. Had difficulty working the dough and it was too dry, and like extra reviewers ended up adding a but more liquid - in my case 2 Tbs of heavy cream. Everythings better with heavy cream! At variouse times I've added a bit extra orange juice if I don't have cream. I tried the recipe with some of the added suggestions and was not impressed with the texture of the scones after adding more then 2Tbs or so extra liquid. A Tbs or two makes you able to pat the dough into a round, but it is still crumbly and can be hard to work with; however, this also gives you the wonderful flakey scones that I love. Adding additional liquid makes the scones easer to work with, less crumbly, but they also end up with the more biscuit like texture, which seems like a waste of all that careful cutting in of the butter. Both ways are quite edible and I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This one is very good. My little girl always wants those chocolate chip scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I too had to edit the recipe to: 8 TBSP butter, 6 TBSP orange juice + 2 TBSP skim milk (I ran out of orange juice), 1 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp orange zest. I also brushed milk on the unbaked scones & sprinkled with sugar. I rolled dough to 1/2" thick and made 8 scones. These are EXCELLENT and will definitely make again. The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars was because I had to edit the liquid & fat. Other than that, this is definitely a wonderful base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I make these time and time again. They are delicious. I even switch out the sugar for splenda and you can't even tell. Add a little more OJ to get the right texture. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I probably shouldn't rate this recipe considering I made a completely different variation, but because I followed a majority of the staple recipe and had it turn out great, I though I should comment anyway. The variation I did was lemon poppy seed scones, replacing the orange juice with lemon juice (next time I will add lemon zest or extract) and the chocolate chips with 2 tablespoons poppy seeds. I rolled it out with just my hands and used the top of a cup since I don't have any cookie cutters. This ended up making 20 bite-sized scones, (the top of the cup was fairly small) and I'm ashamed to say I ate half of them on the spot. It had a nice fluffy inside, not really scone like, but tasted really good. I replaced one of the tablespoons of butter with applesauce to make it healthier (i also used the smart start tub butter, and had no problems, and added a couple extra tablespoons of sugar to counteract the tartness of the lemon. I just cut in the butter with my fingers, and added the lemon juice as I went. I think I used about 5 tablespoons total. I will make many variations of this recipe, as it is both easier and healthier than most of the scone recipes out there. It was a little bit fluffier than other scones, but that was probably due to the adjustments I made. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I add a lot more chocolate--I chop up good quality bittersweet--and add more orange juice. Awesome scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States