English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is the easiest recipe. It is also the lowest in fat for scones. If I'm out of OJ, I use milk...I just add a little more sugar. I've used organic cane sugar in place of regular sugar, I've cut the butter back, and I've used organic flour. Sprinkling a little sugar on the top also adds a nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I used 3 tbs frozen orange juice concentrate for the orange juice and it came out perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JamieB
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
These were good with a few alterations. I had to use the juice from 4 oranges to get the dough to form. No biggie - next time I think I'll add some cinnammon. I also used 8T of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cook-ing
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe is simple and easy to prepare. My family loves waking up on the weekends to the smell of these scones. I zest the peel of the orange that I squeeze for the orange juice and add that to the dough. I think that dark chocolate chips are a must. I do not roll them out. Instead I just dollop the dough on the cookie sheet. I sprinkle them with sugar and bake. They are absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook-ing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
These were so delicate. I did not have any oj so I used a mango flavored sunny d and they were delish. My family gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Me and my friend made these one morning for my father, and ourselves, to enjoy... since we love scones so much. This was our first attempt at making them, and it was so enjoyable and easy! The orange juice didn't leave a very strong taste, but it did make it unique from any other scone I had tasted. Overall, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
After trying to find the best scones recipe for Christmas this year, this is it! Some recipes I've tried have been either too hard or too muffin-like, but this one is just right. I used dark chocolate chips and lactose-free margarine and they were delicious. I also brushed a bit of orange juice on the tops of the scones before I baked them. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smita
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Tried making these with 1 c ap flour and 3/4 c whole wheat flour; added fresh grated orange zest. Used finely chopped dark chocolate instead of chocolate chips. The scones are very good in terms of flavor: perfect balance of sweetness, chocolate and orange. I didn't quite get the texture right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very tasty and easy! Looking forward to my tea party tomorrow. Had to use more oj... maybe twice the amount...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Nice recipe. I tried these scones about 5 years ago as the "first" scones I've ever made. Had difficulty working the dough and it was too dry, and like extra reviewers ended up adding a but more liquid - in my case 2 Tbs of heavy cream. Everythings better with heavy cream! At variouse times I've added a bit extra orange juice if I don't have cream. I tried the recipe with some of the added suggestions and was not impressed with the texture of the scones after adding more then 2Tbs or so extra liquid. A Tbs or two makes you able to pat the dough into a round, but it is still crumbly and can be hard to work with; however, this also gives you the wonderful flakey scones that I love. Adding additional liquid makes the scones easer to work with, less crumbly, but they also end up with the more biscuit like texture, which seems like a waste of all that careful cutting in of the butter. Both ways are quite edible and I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States