English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Absolutly delcious. But like others have said, add more OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is so easy to make. The first time I made them they were a bit too hard, and I like my scones a bit fluffier, but not like a muffin. I guess somewhere in between. The revisions I made was used 1 stick of butter, 1/3 cup orange juice, 2 TBLSP of milk, 1 tsp vanilla, and the zest of half an orange. I always make this when I get cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aescanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My daughter begs me to make these when she comes home for a visit! They are fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
These were VERY good! The closest thing I have gotton to bakery/Starbucks scones! As others have said, you have to at least double the amount of OJ to get a good dough..I just kept adding a bit at a time till it was right. I think next time I might sprinkle a little sugar on top when they come out for just a tad extra sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
these are very good--i make them in the more traditional scone shape by rolling out a 9-inch round and cutting it into 12 wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
There were so many good reviews for these, that I thought I'd try them for company. I made them twice, once following recipe and second time using advice to add more oj. Don't know what I did wrong, but they were terrible both times. It's a scone mix for the company tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very good scones. They were a little denser than desired, but that was likely because I didn't read many reviews before making and as such didn't have enough extra orange juice. Instead of cutting the butter in, I had some frozen butter that I grated into the dry ingredients using the larger holes on a box grater. I then stirred in 2/3 cup dark chocolate chips, 1 tsp orange zest, and 1/3 cup OJ. I ended up having to add almost another 1/3 cup water (I ran out of oranges!), so the dough got stirred more than I would have liked. I flattened it to about a 9" circle and cut it into 12 wedges. 13 minutes later, awesome scones. Next time, I'll add a bit more butter and definitely more liquid. Thanks for sharing, Marbalet! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I can't bake to save my life and these turned out great! I used 6 Tbsp of butter and probably 4 Tbsp of OJ. Didn't roll them or shape them, just dropped in clumps on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was my first time to make scones. These are very good and easy. Glad to see others added more liquid than just the 3T orange juice. I kept adding milk as I had used squeezed orange juice and was out of oranges. I also used Splenda instead of sugar. I couldn't tell the difference. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
To be fair, I only used the base recipe and a few hints from others. I used 8 tbsp butter, 2 oz o.j., 2 or 3 oz half and half, 1 tsp orange zest, 1/3 cup rehydrated dried cranberries & 1/4 cup chopped walnuts (I don't like chocolate & orange together). I sprinkled them lightly with sugar before baking. I don't know when I have had a better scone! Thank you for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States