English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I changed a few things, like recommended, and they turned out wonderfully! I used a heart-shaped cookie cutter because I don't have anything to cut out scones, and they looked so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mica Jade

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Since Grandma Johnson's Scones contain both sour cream and butter and seem to be the best reviewed recipe for scones, I decided to add 4-5 tablespoons of sour cream to this recipe. The verdict: outstandingly chewy, moist but flaky scones! I think sour cream is the secret ingredient to getting that perfect scone texture. Because I hate a rock-hard dry scone. Another reason I wanted to use sour cream is because I had no orange juice on hand, so this allowed me to keep the tang that the OJ would have probably brought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I've made these a few times, and each time they are really good. I've had to add a bit more liquid to get the dough to a good consistency. I found that with the amount listed, it was still extremely powdery. But they are great otherwise. I've also made them with white chocolate chips, which were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
These are AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I love love love love this recipe. I've used it twice [it's in the oven now, yay]. The texture is perfect, the taste is irresistible, and one good thing is that all of the ingredients are in my kitchen! I don't need to leave my house to buy sour cream. The only thing I did was instead of 3 tbs of OJ, I ended up using 6-7 tbs to get the right dough. Nevertheless, the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These delicious scones were so quick easy to make yet they don't taste "simple." I agree with other reviewers who added more than 3 T of orange juice. I didn't measure, but I added at least twice that amount until I got a nice dough. A new favorite recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Try the Simple Scones recipe from this web site and substitute mini-choc-chips for the raisins. It's much better and does not require changes to the recipe. To make this one easier, just cut into wedges and bake in a pie shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Absolutly delcious. But like others have said, add more OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is so easy to make. The first time I made them they were a bit too hard, and I like my scones a bit fluffier, but not like a muffin. I guess somewhere in between. The revisions I made was used 1 stick of butter, 1/3 cup orange juice, 2 TBLSP of milk, 1 tsp vanilla, and the zest of half an orange. I always make this when I get cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aescanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My daughter begs me to make these when she comes home for a visit! They are fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States