English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Very tasty scone. When I've made them I put a few more chocolate chips, my husband is a chocolate nut. Also, I add a little more OJ than the recipe says, otherwise the dough is too dry and doesn't form well. Super easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I'd never made scones before but this recipe was easy and delicious! They seemed to be a little more moist than the scones I've eaten before...and I loved that! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princilla Claiborne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
A very nice recipe with just a few small problems. I did have to add more orange juice like many others, and I found that the finished scones still had a slight flour texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by av8orgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I changed a few things, like recommended, and they turned out wonderfully! I used a heart-shaped cookie cutter because I don't have anything to cut out scones, and they looked so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mica Jade

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Since Grandma Johnson's Scones contain both sour cream and butter and seem to be the best reviewed recipe for scones, I decided to add 4-5 tablespoons of sour cream to this recipe. The verdict: outstandingly chewy, moist but flaky scones! I think sour cream is the secret ingredient to getting that perfect scone texture. Because I hate a rock-hard dry scone. Another reason I wanted to use sour cream is because I had no orange juice on hand, so this allowed me to keep the tang that the OJ would have probably brought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I've made these a few times, and each time they are really good. I've had to add a bit more liquid to get the dough to a good consistency. I found that with the amount listed, it was still extremely powdery. But they are great otherwise. I've also made them with white chocolate chips, which were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
These are AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I love love love love this recipe. I've used it twice [it's in the oven now, yay]. The texture is perfect, the taste is irresistible, and one good thing is that all of the ingredients are in my kitchen! I don't need to leave my house to buy sour cream. The only thing I did was instead of 3 tbs of OJ, I ended up using 6-7 tbs to get the right dough. Nevertheless, the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These delicious scones were so quick easy to make yet they don't taste "simple." I agree with other reviewers who added more than 3 T of orange juice. I didn't measure, but I added at least twice that amount until I got a nice dough. A new favorite recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Try the Simple Scones recipe from this web site and substitute mini-choc-chips for the raisins. It's much better and does not require changes to the recipe. To make this one easier, just cut into wedges and bake in a pie shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States