English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These were more like a sweetened biscuit. Not what I was expecting. They are not flaky at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Very good and easy. I used milk instead of orange juice and had to add more than 3 Tbs. I just kept adding until it became doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
so good! i left out the orange juice, and added extra milk instead. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I had never baked (or eaten) scones before, so I didn't know what to expect. I would describe these as incredibly dense, orange-flavored chocolate chip cookies that, for some reason, remind me of Christmas. Other than cutting in the butter (which took forever), they were easy to make. I did add more orange juice, as recommended, and also about 1/4 c. of extra chocolate chips. The only problem I had was figuring out when they were cooked; I had assumed they would turn golden brown, like cookies, but they don't! I left my first batch in too long and the bottoms burned. Other than that, I loved the recipe and will definitely make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I give this 4 stars only because of the liquid issue described by other reviewers. I was short on orange juice, so used a total of 8 tbs. milk. This moistened up the dough enough, and they turned out DIVINE. I may try making these with some raspberry jam baked into the middle. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
OH was this good! I used Dulce chocolate chunks, and doubled the recipe. I had to add more OJ because it didn't stick at all. Still came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
These were EXCELLENT!!! I did add 3 more tbs of the frozen butter and 3 tbs more of orange juice and a tsp of vanilla.I rolled them out, didn't need to flour the surface and I cut them into triangles with a sharp knife.Very easy to make. They were a cross between a biscuit/shortbread texture. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigMocha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
As it is, I'd give it 4 stars because I can't imagine what it'd be without the rec'd extra butter and OJ but the taste and texture were wonderful! Really crispy/chewy outside and very moist inside. I added sour cream because I ran out of OJ when I still had tons of free flour and had to bake for much longer to get a beautiful golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
These were good but not excellent. I used 8 TBS. of orange juice. They tasted good but the texture didn't seem quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
These scones were delicious! Our guests ate them all right away; I made another batch two days later and those disappeared immediately also. This recipe is a hit! Oh, one change: I didn't have orange juice so I used milk instead, they still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States