English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I lopve these! I have been making them awhile now and I have to say they are my fave! I follow the recipe exactly and they come out perfect and moist everytime! My kids love them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Great recipe! Made these this morning and already ate half the batch! I heeded the advice of previous reviewers and added a total of 8 tbs of OJ (after panicking when I noticed I wasn't getting any 'dough') and a total of 5 tbs butter. I decreased sugar to 1/4 cup. I added 2 tbs of wheat germ and can probably increase that next time. It's a great base recipe and I see myself making different variations for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
A friend originally gave me this recipe, and I'm glad to have found it here! I've made these many times, and they turn out nicely. I always recieve lots of compliments for these. The only drawback to these is that they sometimes turn out dry. I may experiment with some other scone recipes, but I'll most likely continue with this one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These scones are very yummy! I didn't have any OJ in the house so I substituted it with a mixture of 1/2 cup of milk and 1 egg and poured until it blended into a nice doughy texture. They still turned out fabulous! The mini chocolate chips are a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~La Bree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These were more like a sweetened biscuit. Not what I was expecting. They are not flaky at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Very good and easy. I used milk instead of orange juice and had to add more than 3 Tbs. I just kept adding until it became doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
so good! i left out the orange juice, and added extra milk instead. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I had never baked (or eaten) scones before, so I didn't know what to expect. I would describe these as incredibly dense, orange-flavored chocolate chip cookies that, for some reason, remind me of Christmas. Other than cutting in the butter (which took forever), they were easy to make. I did add more orange juice, as recommended, and also about 1/4 c. of extra chocolate chips. The only problem I had was figuring out when they were cooked; I had assumed they would turn golden brown, like cookies, but they don't! I left my first batch in too long and the bottoms burned. Other than that, I loved the recipe and will definitely make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I give this 4 stars only because of the liquid issue described by other reviewers. I was short on orange juice, so used a total of 8 tbs. milk. This moistened up the dough enough, and they turned out DIVINE. I may try making these with some raspberry jam baked into the middle. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
OH was this good! I used Dulce chocolate chunks, and doubled the recipe. I had to add more OJ because it didn't stick at all. Still came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States