English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Add coconut for a different twist! Everybody loved these scones! They were a huge hit - even on day 2! I also used 8 Tablespoons of OJ and 6-7 T of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I added just a couple of teaspoons more of orange juice, and I used *mandarin* orange juice. I make this often for my Harry Potter fan group and they are gone before I can blink! I always end up wishing I'd made a third batch for myself and my family! Also, this is a nice project to do with a teen. My (much) younger sister likes making these with me - we're covered in flour before we're through, but it's fun and the results are delicious. Definitely the best scones I've ever had - a surprisingly sweet, flavorful version of a snack that is sometimes boring and dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I played around with this recipe a bit. I added 1/2 tb of vanilla extract and added 2 additional tbs of oj. I also used 2 tb of apple sauce and 3 tb of butter just to cut down on the fat. I also added 2 tbs of unsweetened cocoa powder and added 1/3 cup splenda baking sugar instead of real sugar. I did this this to save on calories. Even with all the modifications this recipe is still top notch. on of the best out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yum!
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I added more OJ and butter like the other reviews suggested (otherwise I wouldn't have a dough, just a floury mess!) and the texture turned out awesome. But since I used so much more juice, it definitely left a "fruity" note in the scones that I didn't really care for. I might try this again using milk in place of some of the juice, but otherwise, I wouldn't make this again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because I'm going to have to work with it. The dough was just too dry as written. Next time, I'm going to try adding more butter to get a flakier texture and a little more liquid to get the dough to hold together as others have suggested. I set it up in my customized recipes so I can track my versions until its where I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very good when the liquid and butter amounts are adjusted as other reviewers suggested. I used my food processor: Add the dry ingredients and pulse a few times; add one stick of cold (or frozen) butter, cut into cubes, and pulse several times--until it resembles coarse meal; add the chocolate chips and pulse; then turn the processor on as you slowly add the liquid. Don't overwork it. You're just combining the ingredients. The dough will look dry and powdery, but open the food processor and see if it will come together when you pinch it with your fingers. If not, add a few more drips of juice. I didn't use the biscuit cutter. I just formed it into a round and cut it into 8 wedges. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
These were easy to make and the taste was awesome. I took them to church and they were gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Wonderful! I too, would suggest to add more OJ than the recipe calls for. Keep adding little amounts until the mixture forms a dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very, very good scones. I increased the butter and oj to 8 TB of each and the dough was perfect. Added some finely chopped pecans and they were a big hit with the other moms at the playdate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
To me a traditional english scone is a little more flakey than this was. This had a funny texture more like a cake/cookie- I really think the odd texture came from the addition of extra orange juice. The mixture was very dry before adding the extra juice, so perhaps you could add extra butter instead to give it a better texture? It was good enough, but I wouldn't classify it as a scone & I certainly wouldn't serve it to royalty lol. I probably won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States