English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I went to a restaurant with my daughter and had scones and we loved them, so we decided to try to make them. This recipe tasted even better than the ones at the restaurant! My only suggestion to whoever makes this, is to add cinnamon for an even better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were very good. I added the extra butter and OJ that other people suggested. I think I probably added too much OJ because they ended up more like cookies than scones. I also used an almond and toffee chocolate bar, chopped into chunks. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My friends and I really enjoyed these scones! I added an extra 3T of butter to get the mixture more crumbly (and because I prefer to use the whole stick). I only had 2T left of orange juice, so I used an extra 2T of milk and they were perfect. The dough should seem a little dry- after all, they're scones. The recipe did make 12 scones, but they were pretty small. Were fantastic with some raspberry preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My 14 year old daughter made these for 4-H and took them to the county fair....PURPLE RIBBON! She did use 1/2 cup orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Yum and used sunny d.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I am giving this 3 stars because I thought it was a little bland and if I were to make this again I would add something else...I am going to play around with some flavors. I also had to add a 1 tblsp more butter and added more milk...I had no orange juice and I don't think I would have liked these if I added it. On another note my 2 1/2 year old liked them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This has become my most complimented scone recipe! I followed the advice of others and usually end up adding about 7-8 TB of orange juice. They are so easy and turn out delicious! I add some sugar in the raw to the top before baking to jazz it up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was good!! will make again but I subbed blueberries and milk for choc chips and oj!!! SOO Good and I even froze a batch for my husband so he has some snacks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Add coconut for a different twist! Everybody loved these scones! They were a huge hit - even on day 2! I also used 8 Tablespoons of OJ and 6-7 T of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I added just a couple of teaspoons more of orange juice, and I used *mandarin* orange juice. I make this often for my Harry Potter fan group and they are gone before I can blink! I always end up wishing I'd made a third batch for myself and my family! Also, this is a nice project to do with a teen. My (much) younger sister likes making these with me - we're covered in flour before we're through, but it's fun and the results are delicious. Definitely the best scones I've ever had - a surprisingly sweet, flavorful version of a snack that is sometimes boring and dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States