English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Used approximately 8oz. of orange juice and some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I gave this recipe 3 stars, because it did not come out in a scone consistency. It was more like a muffin top. This was probably from all the extra oj I used to get it into a batter. The way it came was before adding extra oj was very powdery. I will say though taste wise it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So yummy. Since I'm gluten intolerant, made these with gluten free flour mix, added some spices, and like others increased butter & OJ (plus a tiny bit of almond milk). Turned out wonderfully, finally, baked goods I can eat! Had them with butter, strawberry jam and coffee for my Sunday breakfast. Will be my go-to recipe since you can change the recipe up so easily - hmm maple walnut, chocolate cherry, cranberry orange, lemon almond, too many choices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used extra butter and orange juice like other reviewers suggested. Used ghiradelli milk chocolate chips and chopped them up and of course used more. Turned out super moist. Was worried they would be too orange tasting but they weren't at all. Next time I may add a little milk instead of more oj. Great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have always wanted to make scones but felt intimidated. This recipe seemed so easy so I gave it a try. It was easy and yummy too. I only got 9 scones out of the recipe, not sure why, and I ended up using the juice of 2 oranges. Next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My kids favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lancelynx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I am not sure IF and what my son did wrong with the recipe, but I ended up adding another tbsp. of butter and an extra tbsp. of milk (we used milk instead of OJ). I absolutely loved the scones. I really look forward to trying it with some cranberries and white chocolate chips OR even adding pecans to this recipe. Also, I used a small Pampered Chef rolling pin and pressed the dough into a 9x9 glass dish. I cut it into quarters, then cut three triangles into each quarter. I took the triangles out and placed them on a greased cookie sheet. It was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great combination of orange and chocolate, however this recipe needs much more liquid and more butter. After following the recipe and adding the orange juice, I did not have a dough but a pile of dry ingredients with a few coarse looking crumbs. I ended up having to add more orange juice, more butter, and also a tablespoon of heavy cream to make it resemble a normal scone dough. I would not suggest using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Its okay. But good. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These scones were delicious but for one reason: I have baking experience and didn't follow the recipe exactly. I had to double (at least) the amount of orange juice. I later read the reviews, and so did everyone else. Many made other adjustments too, such as adding more butter too, but I feel they were fine with about double the oj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States