English Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I have made this twice and loved it! I followed the recipe and it comes out perfect. I wasn’t sure how the mint was going to taste, but it really imparts a nice flavor. It is truly mouth watering!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I substitute red wine for the water, and leave out the mint, and the roast is extremely tasty and wonderfully tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Outstanding. Easy to make, moist and wonderful change from the usual roast. This will be our Christmas Roast this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is not a review as I have not tried this. I just thought you should know that a true English roast with mint would be lamb, not beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was simple and easy, no fail. I used some White Cooking Wine with the water to add some flavor. The smells as it was cooking were to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I liked the flavor of this. Mine was a little dry, but my roast was smaller, so I think I just overcooked it. For the gravy, I might leave out the sage and mint and just use the juices from the meat. I also just used the pot I cooked the meat in for the gravy...I just added the cold water mixed with flour to the juices. As long as the heat is off, you shouldn't get lumps. Turn the flame on after you add the liquid. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Tried it twice now. Both tries with the optional garlic, chili flakes and added a 1 Tbs. herb d provence and 2 tsp.garlic salt. Both attempts were tender, moist and the gravy excellent. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I didn't enjoy this. I found the flavour bland and the meat dry. I think the problem is in using salt when the meat is being seared. I think it's leeching the moisture out of the meat. If I make this again, I won't salt it until it gets to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Easy and excellent. Use an electronic thermometer for the easiest cooking experience that nets out an amazing piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Wonderful! Love the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jennerstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States