English Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Great Flavor! I never expected it to taste like this! I followed the directions to the "T" for the gravy and there were no lumps; also if you are not covering with a tight fitting lid this will be somewhat dry. Follow the directions exactly and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This was a wonderful recipe, easy to make and very good. I only had a 3 and a half pound roast. So the only change I made was cutting the cooking time down to 1 hour and 15 minutes. I will certainly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Easy and very tender. I had a smaller roast on hand and I think next time I will cut the cooking time down because mine was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This recipe turned out super. I was leery of the mint idea but what an amazing addition-very subtle. I will be using this recipe again and again I'm sure! This went great with red-skinned mashed potatoes (skins on) and any veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I'm not always successful when I attempt to make a roast. I'm glad to say this roast turned out awesome. I was a bit wary of the mint but it ended up adding a really nice flavor to the meat and gravy. I think I'll try it without the clove of garlic next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
VERY GOOD! a nice change from doing a roast in the crock pot. It turned out moist(not soggy) & delicious. Wonderful gravy. Followed the recipe exactly as written. Would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
The meat turned out really moist and tender. The gravy was excellent, I served it on sunday and the whole family loved it! I'll definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
My family loves this recipe. I am a vegetarian, but still have to make it for all of them. Hubby reverts to meat eater when it is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I wasn't crazy about the taste, but I'm not a big fan of roast beef anyway. My boyfriend loved it, and it was not too dry or anything. I'll probably keep this recipe around if I make roast again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
it was so easy, and got so much compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAWASEWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States