English Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Wonderful cake. Lots of flavor. My kids and my husband loved it. I did too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This is a very good cake. Goes well with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
this cake needs more flavor - the "crust" is delicious, but the middle is tasteless. i know that doesn't make sense, but everyone in my family said the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is, hands down, the best pound cake I've ever had.....I'll be making this a lot in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This is the best pound cake I’ve ever had. Made it Christmas day and it was a huge hit with the family. The orange extract gives it an added boost. I’ll be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Very nice, dense cake. Will definately make this again. It gets the workmates seal of approval!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Good cake. Much too sweet though, I would recommend using a little less sugar. The flavor is pretty casual, so serve the cake with something else, like ice cream or strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
great! very easy and not too sweet. I think you could try alot of different tings with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This cake is wonderful. It's a nice change from your normal, vanilla pound cake. The different extracts really add a flavor twist! Kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Everyone LOVES this pound cake when I make it. I think I've made it 50 times in the last 4 years. It's all my brother in law wants for Christmas every year. Hints: Make sure your ingredients are room temperature when you begin--the secret to all great pound cakes. Beat each egg 60 seconds when you add it. I decrease the cook time by 10-12 minutes--we like it a little gooey at the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pierced8x

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States