English Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Wonderful cake. Lots of flavor. My kids and my husband loved it. I did too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This is a very good cake. Goes well with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
this cake needs more flavor - the "crust" is delicious, but the middle is tasteless. i know that doesn't make sense, but everyone in my family said the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is, hands down, the best pound cake I've ever had.....I'll be making this a lot in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This is the best pound cake I’ve ever had. Made it Christmas day and it was a huge hit with the family. The orange extract gives it an added boost. I’ll be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Very nice, dense cake. Will definately make this again. It gets the workmates seal of approval!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Good cake. Much too sweet though, I would recommend using a little less sugar. The flavor is pretty casual, so serve the cake with something else, like ice cream or strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
great! very easy and not too sweet. I think you could try alot of different tings with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This cake is wonderful. It's a nice change from your normal, vanilla pound cake. The different extracts really add a flavor twist! Kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Everyone LOVES this pound cake when I make it. I think I've made it 50 times in the last 4 years. It's all my brother in law wants for Christmas every year. Hints: Make sure your ingredients are room temperature when you begin--the secret to all great pound cakes. Beat each egg 60 seconds when you add it. I decrease the cook time by 10-12 minutes--we like it a little gooey at the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pierced8x

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States