English Pie Crusts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I was in a hurry when I made this, and I halved it. I also did not pay attention to the directions and in my infinite wisdom decided to put it in the food processor. My suggestion would be to not do those things. I ended up adding flour bc I messed it up so much, which ended up with a really flaky and floury crust I could only press into my quiche pan. It worked okay, and no one but me knew I messed it up, but take note and try not to do what I did. I'm definitely not marking this recipe down for my mistakes, but I'll try it again--as directed--to see what I think then. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
A bit of salt will help it brown. About a teaspoon should be right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomanycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
i was going to reserve judgement until after i ate this but this was the worst pie crust mess i ever had...and that was without adding the water. way too much shortening. i had to add at least another cup of flour and then doctor it up so ended up with twice as much (hopefully salvageable) pie crust than i needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This has always been my "Idiot Proof" pie crust recipe that I originally got out of a Peg Bracken book and also from a magazine where it was called Grama Rose's pie crust. My version has always been 1/2 as much water as lard/shortening/butter combo,and 1/2 as much lard/shortening/butter combo as flour. Could it be any easier? Easy to roll out and can be chilled or frozen. Used and approved by Sue in Kanada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is the same recipe that my grandma has been using for years. Good tip -chilling the dough makes it a lot easier to work with, but you can roll it right away if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I used half lard & half butter - it came out flaky, tender and yummy. It was a little difficult to work with, but I think that is my peoblem with pie crust in general, and not necessarily the recipe. I would definately make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I have made my pie crust this way for years, except my formula was also half as much water as shortening. If it's too "wet" you can always add a little more flour. Too dry, add more water. I also add just a pinch of salt mixed in with the flour. Have always gotten compliments for my pie crusts. Grandma used to use lard, but I've always just used white shortening. Also, I never chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Really good, makes nice pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.
Living In: Ryde, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
dough was hard to knead. fell apart whenever touched. and was impossible to get thin enough for pie. i definitely will not be going through that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States