English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TassieMel
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I added wheat germ and wheat bran to this recipe, but just a little so it wouldn't get too dry (about 1/4 c). On my gas stove I had to cook them on low heat, as the trial one burnt on medium heat. Overall I found this an easy recipe to make. They are delicious, thank you Linda for this recipe! I am happy I can now make these instead of buying them every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I wanted to find an english muffin recipe that I could use for my breakfast sandwich maker. This was definitely the ticket. Better than any english muffin at the store. No, they don't have the large distinctive holes that are typical of the "real" english muffins, but they sure do taste good. I won't ever buy another one at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I have been on a quest of sorts for a good English muffin recipe. This is not it. I tried it twice to be fair. Added 1 tsp baking soda the second time to give some much needed help in the "nook and cranny" department. But still, the taste, texture and chew reminded me more of white bread than a good English muffin. Should make a decent hamburger bun for dinner tonight. But as far as being my go-to English muffin recipe, this is not it. Time to move on. (So far....Alton Brown's recipe is my favorite. I liked it best when I modified it with a little sourdough starter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Condon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
very tasty, and can't get better than homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I made this recipe just like it says and everybody in my family , including me, thinks they are delicious. They don't have the sourdough thing going for them, but they are so good it doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I did make some modifications and my English Muffins came out nice and chewy just how I like them. I halved the recipe and replaced 1/2 cup of the all purpose flour with farina (because I saw this as an ingredient in a famous brand of English Muffin and I was trying to replicate it lol) and I still didn't use all of the remaining 2 1/2 cups of flour. I used a cast iron skillet on low heat covered with aluminum foil to cook the muffins. They turned out wonderful. Taste just like an English Muffin to me and almost similar to the brand I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I do think these were tasty, if a bit dense, however, they do not taste like an English Muffin. They looked perfect, just like you'd expect. However, it tasted more like a biscuit. They weren't bad, just not what I was expecting. Also, they didn't cook up completely on the griddle for me, I had to finish them in the oven so as not to burn the outsides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was my first time making English muffins and this was a great recipe to start with. Unfortunately, I didn't see other users remarks that the stovetop temperature was too high so my muffins cooked rather quickly, but they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Slice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
They turned out great! I used the bread machine for kneading, though I'm not sure I'd do that again. It struggled with all that flour. I let it rise in the oven for an hour. Then I skipped punching it down and just rolled it out. I cut about 20 muffins. I, again, let them rise in the oven for an hour. Then, I baked them at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes. They're very fluffy!! I didn't get as many "nooks and crannies" as I'd hoped, but they did look more "holey" than a regular roll. They tasted more yeasty than an English muffin, but still a little similar, which is fine with me, because I'm not a huge fan of English muffins, anyway. I was making these for my husband. He hasn't tried them, yet, but he approved of their appearance and saw that they were fluffy. I'm sure I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnadee73
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Came out great! Took a little tweaking to get my flame right as I was using cast iron skillets but they are tasty and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States