English Muffin Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I was very pleased with how this turned out. I wanted to make eggs benedict for breakfast the next morning and found this recipe late last night. I did not have any regular milk on hand so used 1 cup of milk from powdered and 1 cup of buttermilk. Made 2 good sized loaves. Very easy to mix together. My husband was really impressed with the eggs benedict this morning, I had some left over hollendase sauce and just added a little cream to it to thin and diced up some left over ham, toasted the bread and poached eggs and we had an excellent meal! When slicing the bread, I found it easier to slice if I turned it upside down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
For you bread machine lovers, I halved the recipe, put the ingredients in my bread maker according to the direction, (liquid first, then flour, etc., with yeast last), turned the bread maker on "dough" setting and let it mix for 10 minutes. Took the dough out, put it in a bread pan, let it rise, then popped it in the oven. Turned out great and with a lot less work mixing the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
just lovely! everyone i know lives this toasted with a dab of honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queen brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Not bad, but not spectacular. I won't make this again because the labor is not worth the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Linda, thank you so much for sharing this recipe! This bread is absolutely wonderful. I am finishing my first piece right now, fresh from the oven and buttered, and it is so unbelievably good! It really does taste like english muffins, and it was super easy to make, even though this was my first time making bread! Thanks again for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I've made this twice now. The first time I took the advice of someone who said make it more battery than doughy, and used 5 c. flour. It wasn't too crispy this way. Then tried 5.5 c. flour and it was doughy. However, the liquid *may* have been too cool so I might try that level of flour again. From reading other reviews, I think 6 c. must be too much. Either way, I still liked it. I've made English muffins and I think they're still better than the bread, but it was still very good. I did several things with it, toasted and not. Even with spam. Egg & cheese sounded good (since I like that on English muffins), but never tried it. But mostly I just used butter. I would ask one favor: PLEASE list the ingredients in order of use. This makes me crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is great. Not as nook and crannyey as regualr english muffins but the taste is spot on. Nice and quick but the stirring gives you a workout. Rose nicely and tastes amazing with some apple butter. Even my husband likes it and he is not a huge fan of english muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I absolutely loved this recipe. I live where I cannot get English without going to a special store and paying an arm and a leg for 4 muffins. This loaf recipe is perfect. I spent way less to make this recipe than it would cost me for just the 4 muffins. The only thing I did differently was to dust the top with cornmeal too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Very easy and tastey - the bread was a bit too dense, and didn't get as holey as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Even though I made this with 2 cups of whole wheat flour, I think these loaves should have risen higher and have more of that open crumb that English muffins are supposed to have. Still, they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States