English Muffin Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I used 5-1/4 cups of flour. Came out great.......lots of nooks and crannies! Good taste. Bland, but not in a bad way. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Made several times. Only problem ever was when my yeast wasn't strong. Yeast doesn't necessarily last as long as the date on the package would indicate. And there are, in your kitchen, things that will kill yeast -- like the merest trace of any sort of sanitizer product. It's always a good practice to start yeast with a bit of warm liquid -- 110 to 120 degrees is ideal. Or just remember "bottle temp", like a few drops on your wrist from a baby bottle. Most bread recipes start the yeast. This recipe can be done that way, too,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good. We tried it first with Eggs Benedict and really liked the bread. Now we use this same recipe (cut in half but with 3 1/2 tsp of yeast) for bread bowls & pepperoni bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
tastes just like real english muffis. we had company for breaky & they loved them. we used 5 cups of white flour & 1 cup of whole wheat flour to add a little more fibre. good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Outstanding recipe. I found adding an extra 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tbls of sugar boosted the flavor immensely. I agree that decreasing the flour to make the dough more batter like allows those lovely bubbles to develop. Love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I've been making this recipe for over 20 years. I got it from Bon Appetit Breads cookbook. It was meant for baking in a microwave oven. I've always used a conventional oven. I've replaced one or 2 of the cups of flour with whole wheat...works great and adds a little more flavor. Try it! My family is crazy for this bread with or without the ww flour. You can also use some barley flour for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
this was a total failure! i followed the recipe to a T, and it didn't come out like it was supposed to at ALL. i'm still not sure what i did wrong. maybe there was something wrong with my yeast? i'm glad that i only made one loaf, so i didn't waste a lot of ingredients. i def won't be making this again and will be deleting it from my recipe box. i think this is the first time i made something on allrecipes that completely bombed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Cut this in half, using 2 cups of flour, 1 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of water and the whole tablespoon of sugar. Used half whole grain flour and whole wheat pastry flour with great success. Made in my round coffee can shaped bread pan. The outside was deliciously crusty. Used half the loaf for french toast, which was yummy. Thanks for sharing! Update: this time made with buttermilk, omitting the salt, and half whole wheat/half unbleached white four. Even better and better texture too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I decided to follow one of the reviews. I used milk for the liquid and reduced flour to 1 cup of wheat flour and 3 cups of white flour. Toasted and ate with honey butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
It was ok, but I had a couple of problems with it. I added the active dry yeast to the flour, as stated in the recipe & it didn't soften or dissolve, so that the resulting bread tastes somewhat yeasty and didn't rise very well. Maybe instant yeast is in order. Also, 6 cups of flour was WAY too much. After 5c, I had a sticky dough, not a stiff batter. I ended up adding the extra cup, and kneaded in about 1/2 of it. The resulting bread, while tasting good, was not at all like an English Muffin. If I try it again, I'll definitely stop after 4 cups of flour and see if the results are closer to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States