English Muffin Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Outstanding recipe. I found adding an extra 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tbls of sugar boosted the flavor immensely. I agree that decreasing the flour to make the dough more batter like allows those lovely bubbles to develop. Love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I've been making this recipe for over 20 years. I got it from Bon Appetit Breads cookbook. It was meant for baking in a microwave oven. I've always used a conventional oven. I've replaced one or 2 of the cups of flour with whole wheat...works great and adds a little more flavor. Try it! My family is crazy for this bread with or without the ww flour. You can also use some barley flour for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
this was a total failure! i followed the recipe to a T, and it didn't come out like it was supposed to at ALL. i'm still not sure what i did wrong. maybe there was something wrong with my yeast? i'm glad that i only made one loaf, so i didn't waste a lot of ingredients. i def won't be making this again and will be deleting it from my recipe box. i think this is the first time i made something on allrecipes that completely bombed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Cut this in half, using 2 cups of flour, 1 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of water and the whole tablespoon of sugar. Used half whole grain flour and whole wheat pastry flour with great success. Made in my round coffee can shaped bread pan. The outside was deliciously crusty. Used half the loaf for french toast, which was yummy. Thanks for sharing! Update: this time made with buttermilk, omitting the salt, and half whole wheat/half unbleached white four. Even better and better texture too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I decided to follow one of the reviews. I used milk for the liquid and reduced flour to 1 cup of wheat flour and 3 cups of white flour. Toasted and ate with honey butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
It was ok, but I had a couple of problems with it. I added the active dry yeast to the flour, as stated in the recipe & it didn't soften or dissolve, so that the resulting bread tastes somewhat yeasty and didn't rise very well. Maybe instant yeast is in order. Also, 6 cups of flour was WAY too much. After 5c, I had a sticky dough, not a stiff batter. I ended up adding the extra cup, and kneaded in about 1/2 of it. The resulting bread, while tasting good, was not at all like an English Muffin. If I try it again, I'll definitely stop after 4 cups of flour and see if the results are closer to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out great! I mixed it completely by hand and did not use the full amount of flour. The finished product had a light texture and all the nooks and crannies of store bought English muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This on'es a keeper. Very much like english muffins you buy in the store, only better. I only incorporated 5 cups of flour and the batter was perfect. This will definitely be made often in my house. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
so easy and quick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Tastes like English muffins except not as dry. The review by TMO suggested making it more like batter then complained about dropping in the middle. Batter sinks and dough rises; make dough and it will rise in the middle. DANIELLE BEATTY said it was too doughy. I had to bake mine a few extra minutes as mine was still doughy in the middle at the end of 25 minutes. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PuttPutt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States