English Muffin Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Tastes great! I made this on a VERY hot day- it rose in no time. Even to the point of overflowing one of my bread pans. I used a generous measure on the yeast, and no more than 5 cups of flour. The dough was very wet and sticky, but the end result was a loaf full of "nooks and crannys". Delicious toasted with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Love this! As others suggested I used 1 C WW flour and about 3 C unbleached white flour plus 1/2 t extra salt. I also added the yeast to the warm milk (all milk, 1 1/2 C) instead of putting the yeast in with the flour. No major changes, just a matter of personal preference . Simply delicious, and so much less expensive and tastier than English Muffin Bread at the grocery or bakery....Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have been making this bread for over 20 years! I first got the recipe from a friend. I have taken it to school potlucks and give it for gifts at Christmas with a jar of homemade jam. People always love this bread...it is the best. The cornmeal gives it a nice crunch and it works even better for toast. As soon as I take it out of the oven I drizzle butter over the top. The only problem with the bread is that it disappears quickly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
If you like english muffins, and easy recipes, this is the one you should try. It is great. Glenn from cold county ny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
WOW! I finally made this today & this is a recipe that I will be making again & again! My husband loves it too. He came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clawed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I only used 4 1/4 cups flour. I think I may have let this rise a little too much as there was a large air bubble under the top crust; however, the rest of the loaf had nice air bubbles in it. The flavor is excellent! Toasted is best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I used 5-1/4 cups of flour. Came out great.......lots of nooks and crannies! Good taste. Bland, but not in a bad way. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Made several times. Only problem ever was when my yeast wasn't strong. Yeast doesn't necessarily last as long as the date on the package would indicate. And there are, in your kitchen, things that will kill yeast -- like the merest trace of any sort of sanitizer product. It's always a good practice to start yeast with a bit of warm liquid -- 110 to 120 degrees is ideal. Or just remember "bottle temp", like a few drops on your wrist from a baby bottle. Most bread recipes start the yeast. This recipe can be done that way, too,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good. We tried it first with Eggs Benedict and really liked the bread. Now we use this same recipe (cut in half but with 3 1/2 tsp of yeast) for bread bowls & pepperoni bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
tastes just like real english muffis. we had company for breaky & they loved them. we used 5 cups of white flour & 1 cup of whole wheat flour to add a little more fibre. good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States