English Muffin Hors d'Oeuvres Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These are AWESOME and SUPER easy! I made the following english muffin recipe from this site last night: English Muffins. Since my boyfriend will be out of town for a week, I wanted to use up some of the english muffins. These were perfect. Unfortunately, I didn't have green onions (and the bf doesn't like them) so I made these without. They were still incredible. They taste like the best cheese bread you've ever had at a pizza place. I will make these again! I love the idea of adding shrimp to these and plan to make them as my solo "dinner" this week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I rated this recipe 5 stars, however with a substitution: I don't put salt in it (I find with everything, it's salty enough so no salt and no garlic salt either) and instead I put a little bit of curry powder (depending on how much you like it)...but even just a little hint is delicious! & you have to put chopped black olives in the mayo mixture - sooo good! Then I just bake them in the oven normally...they also work well if you freeze them 1st. Always a hit & ppl always ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made for a get together at my place, I did substitute about 3/4 cup of the mayo for cream cheese and used a bit more than a pinch of black pepper. They were gone in no time with nothing but praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I started making this with my Nana when I was a little girl around the Holidays in the early 1970's. (Don't do the math, I am an old lady now : ) ..... These are wonderful and easy, however we would mix it up and use Parmesan reggiano in place of Cheddar and this added a bit more punch. Use fresh not the canned, fresh had more zing! Yummy Yummy in my tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I used gruyere cheese and half cup sour cream and three quarters cup mayo, and crabmeat, bake on french bread it rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I added chopped green olives too - suggest leaving out the salt and garlic salt if you add the olives. Delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I have been eating these since I was a kid. We add chopped black olives and curry powder to ours. have never added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Try adding some chopped black olives. Makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These are really good! I added a can of chopped black olives as other reviewers had suggested. I baked some and later broiled some, both ways turn out great. Since I was making them for myself and my husband I did not cut them, but left them as whole circles as seen in photo. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I followed Barbara's advice and added black olives. I used low-fat cheese and mayo and these little guys were still very rich and delicious. Thanks for the recipe, Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Individual pizzas made on English muffins with sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Muffin Tin Potatoes Gratin

Quick and easy individual au gratin potatoes prepared in a muffin tin.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States