English Muffin Hors d'Oeuvres Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great basic recipe. I always use garlic powder, not garlic salt. (It is mostly salt.) Black olives and crab meat is the best addition. Will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These are really good! I added a can of chopped black olives as other reviewers had suggested. I baked some and later broiled some, both ways turn out great. Since I was making them for myself and my husband I did not cut them, but left them as whole circles as seen in photo. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I started making this with my Nana when I was a little girl around the Holidays in the early 1970's. (Don't do the math, I am an old lady now : ) ..... These are wonderful and easy, however we would mix it up and use Parmesan reggiano in place of Cheddar and this added a bit more punch. Use fresh not the canned, fresh had more zing! Yummy Yummy in my tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I have been eating these since I was a kid. We add chopped black olives and curry powder to ours. have never added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I added chopped green olives too - suggest leaving out the salt and garlic salt if you add the olives. Delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made for a get together at my place, I did substitute about 3/4 cup of the mayo for cream cheese and used a bit more than a pinch of black pepper. They were gone in no time with nothing but praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These are AWESOME and SUPER easy! I made the following english muffin recipe from this site last night: English Muffins. Since my boyfriend will be out of town for a week, I wanted to use up some of the english muffins. These were perfect. Unfortunately, I didn't have green onions (and the bf doesn't like them) so I made these without. They were still incredible. They taste like the best cheese bread you've ever had at a pizza place. I will make these again! I love the idea of adding shrimp to these and plan to make them as my solo "dinner" this week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I rated this recipe 5 stars, however with a substitution: I don't put salt in it (I find with everything, it's salty enough so no salt and no garlic salt either) and instead I put a little bit of curry powder (depending on how much you like it)...but even just a little hint is delicious! & you have to put chopped black olives in the mayo mixture - sooo good! Then I just bake them in the oven normally...they also work well if you freeze them 1st. Always a hit & ppl always ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I used gruyere cheese and half cup sour cream and three quarters cup mayo, and crabmeat, bake on french bread it rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These were good but next time I will 'kick' it up a little leaving out the regular salt, using more than a pinch of garlic salt and sprinkle the tops with Asiago cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Individual pizzas made on English muffins with sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States