English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This was ok. I used half bread flour and half AP (cause I didn't have that much bread flour) and it came out fine. One of the reviews said that the final product should be more like batter than dough. If that is true, there's no way I could add in all the flour. I left half a cup out to keep it on the batter-ee side of things. It was very moist and toasted nicely. Just didn't really taste like anything really. Certainly not like English muffin. I will say it was extremely easy to make and made a decent vehicle for the topping of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Easy and wonderful! Was such a huge hit when I made it for a brunch, I had to make more for just us! I halved the recipe and baked it divided between 2 mini-loaf pans. Forget buying over-priced packages of muffins at the store, this recipe is easy, will save you money, and please your taste buds and belly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
CUT THE FLOUR BACK TO 5 CUPS! . The consistancy should be a shaggy batter that is spoonable. This will result in a perfect bread that has larger holes and crumb that should look just like english muffins.- not regular bread. 6 cups of flour is far too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dougr
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This bread is easy to make and is excellent !! This is the first bread I ever made and it came out good as the picture shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
used white wheat flour instead of bread flour (had to add a little extra liquid) and I added maybe a tablespoon of oil, and it turned out great! thanks for the recipe, it's so very easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I had the same issue as others, it didn't rise as much as it should have. I also thought it was a little dry. It did make some good eggs and bacon sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Reeder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
i have tried this and it is good. i would like to make it with whole wheat. How do I do this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This bread makes the best toast you will ever have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYINBLUE3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is much the same as the recipe provided by King Arthur Flour's web site for one loaf, with two exceptions; for one loaf, two tablespoons olive oil is added, plus it calls for 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, twice the amount called for in this recipe. All other items are reduced by half. I don't know how it would be possible to "spoon" the "batter" into anything. I have made this bread six or eight times, and it always forms a firm round of dough in the bowl. Trying to "spoon" it would only result in the spoon being firmly contained in the dough. Be prepared to use dough hooks on your mixer. Let the bread cool completely before putting into any kind of container. I find "sealing" the bread into an air-tight container results in the loaf developing a soggy characteristic. If it lasts that long. Folks in my house want a slice before it can ever get cool, or toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Comfort-Mason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Peres, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States