English Honey-Roasted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Been slow cooking this turkey all day, smells really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I revised mine to a crockpot 5Lb turkey breast 15oz honey split half regular honey and half orange blossom honey 1/4C butter Due to a citrus allergy i didnt rub turkey with lemon i basted it with one layer honey mixture . Since i had a 7qt crockpot i cut several apples onions and potatoes spread around breast. i felt it needed color so i said well why not add cranberries. 1small pkg of dried cranberries. I wanted it totaste of honey so i contued to pour one ladle full of honey mix per hour over turkey .till done. the only other thing i did was use enough chicken broth to cover about 1/3 of lower half of bird. Makes great sandwiches and is very moist ...i wanted something that wasnt stong turkey tasting and i succeeded. Hope u try out my revision and u enjoy it as it was my first turkey ever i cooked. Thanks for the base recipie that was easy enough for me to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This turkey was delicious. Very moist. First you get a taste of honey and then the lemon. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is a great idea but I am not a fan of the roasting method. Starting out at 400 - covering with foil etc... If I were to do this again, I would stick with roasting at 350 and glaze more toward the end to get a nice finish. The cooking time in this recipe is also way off. It has you cooking a 10 Turkey for 3 1/2 - 4 hours to an internal temp of 180. A 10 lb turkey will take 2 1/2 - 3 hours. Poultry is considered done at an internal temp of 165. Check Food Safety . gov to confirm this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I tried this recipe today,made a few alterations, I seasoned the turkey with seasoning called shadown benni (bandania),fresh chive and fresh celery a few cloves of garlic and then added the black pepper,salt and thyme pimento peppers to the blender and blended everything together and rubbed it all over the turkey inside out I think basically my turkey was dry probably due to the brand,so i added some chicken stock to the basting ingredients, the turkey was definately a hit among everyone and I would definately make this again!Thanks for such a great tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherryberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This year I left out the lemon, and instead used half an orange to lightly rub the skin before applying the glaze. Whether using an orange or a lemon, be sure to go LIGHT on the rubbing! The flavor should be more about the butter and honey than about the citrus! Once again this turkey got rave reviews from my guests; even one of the pickiest eaters I've ever met loved this turkey and the gravy it made. Happy Roasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
We upped the butter to 4oz and the honey to 8oz. The lemon was almost too strong, but the honey tasted great. For a 16+lb bird, we roasted for 2.5 hours at 350, after reducing the temperature, and it was just the right doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe is GREAT. I've never been crazy about turkey, but looooved this. It browned beautifully and made a really moist and yummy bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States