English Flapjack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by deedeeaz
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I'm English. I'm a bloke. I live in the US. I do the cooking in our house. :-) This recipe is authentic . . . . . PROBLEMS: It crumbles? Too many oats? . . . . . . SOLUTIONS: ONE: In step 2 you must combine on very low heat and leave gently heating for at least 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Waiting for just the butter to melt is NOT long enough. The reason is that the brown sugar needs to liquefy. TWO: As good as they smell you must allow them to cool UNTIL COLD ..... Follow both these directions with the above recipe and you'll be fine. ..... My personal changes: When I add chopped dates I remove the same size amount from the oats. For example if I add 1/4 cup of dates, I remove 1/4 cup of oats. I also make them in a muffin tin for individual lunch box portions (as my photo shows). Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I have been craving these for so long! -I used porage oats instead of rolled oats. (If you can't find porage/Scottish oats, just toss some rolled oats in the blender and pulse a couple times until the oats approach the size of instant potato flakes) -I doubled or tripled the amount of golden syrup so that it would stick together a little better. (I just added it until it seemed dense enough) -I used sultanas instead of raisins so it would be easier to chew - just toss some raisins in boiling water until they're plump and tender. I used both black and golden raisins. I baked them in a metal pan, and next time I would cut the time by 5-7 minutes because they ended up a little tough around the edges. They turned out great! They make a great snack for me during classes! I miss England!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
5 stars with a few revisions... Try this for the perfect flapjack: 1 c. butter 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 c. golden syrup 2 1/3 c. quick cook oats (not instant) Follow rest of the recipe as stated, though I usually only need to cook mine for 20 minutes at 350. I also omitted the raisins for a more authentic flapjack. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious and stuck together well. I have had problems with crumbly flapjack in the past! I followed the advice from some of the reviews and used 10 tbsp golden syrup instead of 4, porage instead of rolled oats and sultanas instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I disagree (respectfully) with the previous reviewers who said this recipe doesn't work as is. I followed it to the "T," making sure to completely melt the sugar and corn syrup and brown sugar. It takes a little longer, but it's worth it. I used "quick oats" and easily fit all 3 cups worth in with the melted mixture by just mixing one cup at a time. I pressed it all into a pan (greased the bottom only) which help it to stick together better, too, and I used chocolate chips instead of raisins. I would bake it for the full 30 minutes next time as it was a little bit soft from less time. But the big key is cooling completely. I tried them before that and the parts that were still warm broke apart while the pieces completely cooled stayed together. During my time living in England, I tasted quite a few variations of flapjacks. These definitely tasted authentic. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Too many oats. It didn't even stay together. When I put them in the pan with the other ingredients I knew it was too much. Cooking time was too long. The bottom and edges burned at 350 for 30 mins. I reccomend 17-20 mins. I took some out at 17 mins and they were okay with flavor, but still fell apart. Flavor wasn't spectacular. Tastes like buttery sugary oats. Big deal. Whoopie. Next time I'll cut down the oats, or use another recipe. Or maybe rolled oats means something other than the stuff you get from Quaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
These are delicious but i agree with some of the other reviews there are too many oats so i decreased the amount a bit and they came out great. My family like them as a little treat. Sometimes i like to use a little bit of honey instead as i think that is a good idea. Thanks for the person who sugested the honey and to the person who put the english flapjack on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I cut down the amount of oats slightly to improve the recipe, as I agree there are slightly too many oats. However, with this alteration they tasted much nicer, and one of my friends even used this recipe in their school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Mum used to make flapjacks all the time, and I was hoping these would be as good as hers. They weren't. Far fom it. Flapjacks should be moist and stick-in-your-teeth gooey. These were extremely dry and, as others have noted, they easily broke apart. I think the cook time is too long in this recipe, and also that there needs to be much more sugar/butter binder. I'll try this next time. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
it was so yumi and it doesn't take long to make only about 10 minutes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States