English Flapjack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious and stuck together well. I have had problems with crumbly flapjack in the past! I followed the advice from some of the reviews and used 10 tbsp golden syrup instead of 4, porage instead of rolled oats and sultanas instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great made in tne muinetts but one thing i did was add more syrup 5 times more and i put some vinilla essance in tri it it is lush :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deedeeaz
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I'm English. I'm a bloke. I live in the US. I do the cooking in our house. :-) This recipe is authentic . . . . . PROBLEMS: It crumbles? Too many oats? . . . . . . SOLUTIONS: ONE: In step 2 you must combine on very low heat and leave gently heating for at least 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Waiting for just the butter to melt is NOT long enough. The reason is that the brown sugar needs to liquefy. TWO: As good as they smell you must allow them to cool UNTIL COLD ..... Follow both these directions with the above recipe and you'll be fine. ..... My personal changes: When I add chopped dates I remove the same size amount from the oats. For example if I add 1/4 cup of dates, I remove 1/4 cup of oats. I also make them in a muffin tin for individual lunch box portions (as my photo shows). Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I have been craving these for so long! -I used porage oats instead of rolled oats. (If you can't find porage/Scottish oats, just toss some rolled oats in the blender and pulse a couple times until the oats approach the size of instant potato flakes) -I doubled or tripled the amount of golden syrup so that it would stick together a little better. (I just added it until it seemed dense enough) -I used sultanas instead of raisins so it would be easier to chew - just toss some raisins in boiling water until they're plump and tender. I used both black and golden raisins. I baked them in a metal pan, and next time I would cut the time by 5-7 minutes because they ended up a little tough around the edges. They turned out great! They make a great snack for me during classes! I miss England!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
It was so delicious!!! I forgot I was on a diet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Rather than adding the sugar, I added 2 extra tbsp honey. These are good. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I disagree (respectfully) with the previous reviewers who said this recipe doesn't work as is. I followed it to the "T," making sure to completely melt the sugar and corn syrup and brown sugar. It takes a little longer, but it's worth it. I used "quick oats" and easily fit all 3 cups worth in with the melted mixture by just mixing one cup at a time. I pressed it all into a pan (greased the bottom only) which help it to stick together better, too, and I used chocolate chips instead of raisins. I would bake it for the full 30 minutes next time as it was a little bit soft from less time. But the big key is cooling completely. I tried them before that and the parts that were still warm broke apart while the pieces completely cooled stayed together. During my time living in England, I tasted quite a few variations of flapjacks. These definitely tasted authentic. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
5 stars with a few revisions... Try this for the perfect flapjack: 1 c. butter 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 c. golden syrup 2 1/3 c. quick cook oats (not instant) Follow rest of the recipe as stated, though I usually only need to cook mine for 20 minutes at 350. I also omitted the raisins for a more authentic flapjack. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was really good, really fast and really easy! I don't like raisins so I replaced half a cup of the rolled oats with a packet of banana instant oatmeal! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UrbanSugar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This were amazing! they were nice and crunchy and the best part is they didn't need any flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States