English Flapjack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
it was so yumi and it doesn't take long to make only about 10 minutes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Too many oats. It didn't even stay together. When I put them in the pan with the other ingredients I knew it was too much. Cooking time was too long. The bottom and edges burned at 350 for 30 mins. I reccomend 17-20 mins. I took some out at 17 mins and they were okay with flavor, but still fell apart. Flavor wasn't spectacular. Tastes like buttery sugary oats. Big deal. Whoopie. Next time I'll cut down the oats, or use another recipe. Or maybe rolled oats means something other than the stuff you get from Quaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I have been craving these for so long! -I used porage oats instead of rolled oats. (If you can't find porage/Scottish oats, just toss some rolled oats in the blender and pulse a couple times until the oats approach the size of instant potato flakes) -I doubled or tripled the amount of golden syrup so that it would stick together a little better. (I just added it until it seemed dense enough) -I used sultanas instead of raisins so it would be easier to chew - just toss some raisins in boiling water until they're plump and tender. I used both black and golden raisins. I baked them in a metal pan, and next time I would cut the time by 5-7 minutes because they ended up a little tough around the edges. They turned out great! They make a great snack for me during classes! I miss England!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
the best one i have made yet and tases the best to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodland, Durham, England, U.K.
Living In: Wolsingham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Mum used to make flapjacks all the time, and I was hoping these would be as good as hers. They weren't. Far fom it. Flapjacks should be moist and stick-in-your-teeth gooey. These were extremely dry and, as others have noted, they easily broke apart. I think the cook time is too long in this recipe, and also that there needs to be much more sugar/butter binder. I'll try this next time. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I cut down the amount of oats slightly to improve the recipe, as I agree there are slightly too many oats. However, with this alteration they tasted much nicer, and one of my friends even used this recipe in their school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
It was so delicious!!! I forgot I was on a diet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Rather than adding the sugar, I added 2 extra tbsp honey. These are good. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Not at all what I was looking for, but very good. I spread mine out extra thin and baked them for 25 minutes. It tasted like carmel oats instead of carmel corn, only slightly less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious and stuck together well. I have had problems with crumbly flapjack in the past! I followed the advice from some of the reviews and used 10 tbsp golden syrup instead of 4, porage instead of rolled oats and sultanas instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States