English Flapjack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great made in tne muinetts but one thing i did was add more syrup 5 times more and i put some vinilla essance in tri it it is lush :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I omitted the raisins and they were fine. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I disagree (respectfully) with the previous reviewers who said this recipe doesn't work as is. I followed it to the "T," making sure to completely melt the sugar and corn syrup and brown sugar. It takes a little longer, but it's worth it. I used "quick oats" and easily fit all 3 cups worth in with the melted mixture by just mixing one cup at a time. I pressed it all into a pan (greased the bottom only) which help it to stick together better, too, and I used chocolate chips instead of raisins. I would bake it for the full 30 minutes next time as it was a little bit soft from less time. But the big key is cooling completely. I tried them before that and the parts that were still warm broke apart while the pieces completely cooled stayed together. During my time living in England, I tasted quite a few variations of flapjacks. These definitely tasted authentic. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
first time i made these they came out a bit crumbly so next time i added more strup and the came out geat! recently i made them again but added 1 large banana, i mashed it up and made sure it had melted into the mixture before adding the oats. they came out smelling great with a nice colour and tasted really good.thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ayr, Ayrshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Not a bad taste, but not quite what I was looking for. I added less oats because of the comments, and that def. helped make them stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
These are delicious but i agree with some of the other reviews there are too many oats so i decreased the amount a bit and they came out great. My family like them as a little treat. Sometimes i like to use a little bit of honey instead as i think that is a good idea. Thanks for the person who sugested the honey and to the person who put the english flapjack on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Just made some of these they taste and look great. You can also use chopped dried apricots rather than sultanas or raisins just make sure to chop them nice and small though and keep an eye on them as they cook mine were ready at 25 mins 30 and they would have been overdone in my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious and stuck together well. I have had problems with crumbly flapjack in the past! I followed the advice from some of the reviews and used 10 tbsp golden syrup instead of 4, porage instead of rolled oats and sultanas instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Not at all what I was looking for, but very good. I spread mine out extra thin and baked them for 25 minutes. It tasted like carmel oats instead of carmel corn, only slightly less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Rather than adding the sugar, I added 2 extra tbsp honey. These are good. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States