English Flapjack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Good basic recipe; great with a few changes. I always bake a double batch in a 13x9" pan 20 minutes or til very golden. The bars are 3/4 or 7/8" thick, reminiscent of granola bars. CHANGES: Only use 3 Tbsp golden syrup (use real golden syrup for best results... Lyle's) and use 5+1/4 cups quick oats. (I substitute 1+1/4 cup regular rolled oats for more texture). I omit raisins. If you cannot find Lyles, the best substitute is 2 Tbsp light corn syrup + 1 Tbsp honey. Neither one is as good as the combination, but Lyles is best for flavor, texture, and holding together. These are a staple in my house! They will crumble if eaten before they cool completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I would like this if it were less crunchy. I might try this again and bake it for less time. Excellent flavor and great for the kids lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This were amazing! they were nice and crunchy and the best part is they didn't need any flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This recipe made really crispy flapjacks, more like a granola. I followed the recipe to the T and they still were not right. The flavor was awesome, but very hard to eat. So, I am modifying the recipe to be softer and using rice syrup instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was really good, really fast and really easy! I don't like raisins so I replaced half a cup of the rolled oats with a packet of banana instant oatmeal! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UrbanSugar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deedeeaz
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I'm English. I'm a bloke. I live in the US. I do the cooking in our house. :-) This recipe is authentic . . . . . PROBLEMS: It crumbles? Too many oats? . . . . . . SOLUTIONS: ONE: In step 2 you must combine on very low heat and leave gently heating for at least 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Waiting for just the butter to melt is NOT long enough. The reason is that the brown sugar needs to liquefy. TWO: As good as they smell you must allow them to cool UNTIL COLD ..... Follow both these directions with the above recipe and you'll be fine. ..... My personal changes: When I add chopped dates I remove the same size amount from the oats. For example if I add 1/4 cup of dates, I remove 1/4 cup of oats. I also make them in a muffin tin for individual lunch box portions (as my photo shows). Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is very similar to what in my family is called "Petrified Porridge". :-) So simple and quick to make with kids. I just made some with my 3-year-old and we had a blast! Only change was honey instead of syrup and I cut it to 2 tbsp because I thought it was sweet enough already. If you use the larger pan as I did, be sure to reduce the baking time accordingly; mine was only 1/2 inch thick and so was ready in just over half the suggested time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I left out the raisins on this one, but being English I can confrim this is a very authentic recipe, you do need to buy golden syrup though to get the true taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Yummy, but also crumbly and fell apart - couldn't cut into bars. I substituted agave nectar and maple syrup for the golden syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
5 stars with a few revisions... Try this for the perfect flapjack: 1 c. butter 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 c. golden syrup 2 1/3 c. quick cook oats (not instant) Follow rest of the recipe as stated, though I usually only need to cook mine for 20 minutes at 350. I also omitted the raisins for a more authentic flapjack. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States