English Flapjack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Good basic recipe; great with a few changes. I always bake a double batch in a 13x9" pan 20 minutes or til very golden. The bars are 3/4 or 7/8" thick, reminiscent of granola bars. CHANGES: Only use 3 Tbsp golden syrup (use real golden syrup for best results... Lyle's) and use 5+1/4 cups quick oats. (I substitute 1+1/4 cup regular rolled oats for more texture). I omit raisins. If you cannot find Lyles, the best substitute is 2 Tbsp light corn syrup + 1 Tbsp honey. Neither one is as good as the combination, but Lyles is best for flavor, texture, and holding together. These are a staple in my house! They will crumble if eaten before they cool completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I would like this if it were less crunchy. I might try this again and bake it for less time. Excellent flavor and great for the kids lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This were amazing! they were nice and crunchy and the best part is they didn't need any flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This recipe made really crispy flapjacks, more like a granola. I followed the recipe to the T and they still were not right. The flavor was awesome, but very hard to eat. So, I am modifying the recipe to be softer and using rice syrup instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was really good, really fast and really easy! I don't like raisins so I replaced half a cup of the rolled oats with a packet of banana instant oatmeal! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UrbanSugar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deedeeaz
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I'm English. I'm a bloke. I live in the US. I do the cooking in our house. :-) This recipe is authentic . . . . . PROBLEMS: It crumbles? Too many oats? . . . . . . SOLUTIONS: ONE: In step 2 you must combine on very low heat and leave gently heating for at least 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Waiting for just the butter to melt is NOT long enough. The reason is that the brown sugar needs to liquefy. TWO: As good as they smell you must allow them to cool UNTIL COLD ..... Follow both these directions with the above recipe and you'll be fine. ..... My personal changes: When I add chopped dates I remove the same size amount from the oats. For example if I add 1/4 cup of dates, I remove 1/4 cup of oats. I also make them in a muffin tin for individual lunch box portions (as my photo shows). Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is very similar to what in my family is called "Petrified Porridge". :-) So simple and quick to make with kids. I just made some with my 3-year-old and we had a blast! Only change was honey instead of syrup and I cut it to 2 tbsp because I thought it was sweet enough already. If you use the larger pan as I did, be sure to reduce the baking time accordingly; mine was only 1/2 inch thick and so was ready in just over half the suggested time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I left out the raisins on this one, but being English I can confrim this is a very authentic recipe, you do need to buy golden syrup though to get the true taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Yummy, but also crumbly and fell apart - couldn't cut into bars. I substituted agave nectar and maple syrup for the golden syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
5 stars with a few revisions... Try this for the perfect flapjack: 1 c. butter 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 c. golden syrup 2 1/3 c. quick cook oats (not instant) Follow rest of the recipe as stated, though I usually only need to cook mine for 20 minutes at 350. I also omitted the raisins for a more authentic flapjack. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States