English Crumpets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I only had active dry yeast, so I did what Haddonjw said to do. Put the yeast in the warm liquids for 5 minutes, then add the sifted dry ingredients, and it worked fine. They tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen R. Busse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
These were the badgers nadgers. I added a little more flour, put the yeast (active dry) in the liquids for 5mins and then sifted in the dry ingredients. Other than that I followed it. Oh except that I make the size of the frying pan - bigger the better I say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I am making them right now! Had a little taste test with butter only. Very good!!! My son is doing a project on England, so we are making these and English tea for his class. I know they will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
There's nothing better than warm crumpets topped with Golden Syrup and fresh whipped cream. It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AussieChic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think my mistake was not realizing Instant Yeast is not the same thing as Active Dry yeast. With active dry they turned out doughy no matter how long/slow they were cooked or whether we flipped them or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Ok. How did you get them not to be doughy???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Obviously Jinx didn't cook em properly... indeed they do take some practice to get it just right. Just made my 3rd batch & they are wonderful. And considering how expensive store bought crumpets are... these are a bargain as well ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
These were horrible. Like eating raw bread dough that is slightly browned on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
These were okay. Turned out very doughy. I tried different cooking temperatures, but it did not seem to make a difference. I think that I may play with this recipe a little bit to see if I can get the right consistency. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Perfect!! Just like my Grandmother from Scarborough used to make. I used electric grill pan. Very easy. Thank you Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States