English Caraway Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Delicious recipe! It was perfect. I must say though, that "pour into pan" is impossible. You have to pat it in like biscuit dough. The texture was fabulous, very tender, with a lovely crust. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is memories from my childhood. My mom has misplaced her recipe so I was glad to find one. It's flavour was perfect, and I went heavy on the caraway seeds, but I found it dry. Next time I will add a bit less flour and see if it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
As a kid I hated this. As a grown up I love it! Every cake shop in England used to sell it, but I haven't seen any commercially for decades. Do try it. You'll either hate it or love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I found this recipe -- identical to that which appeared in the late 1960s Time Life book on British Cookery, from which I tried it -- turned out odd. It produced not a batter but a dough, so I second the comment that "pouring the batter is impossible"-- it made not so much a cake as a mildly sweet bread. I suspect that the recipe has an error in it and that it calls for too much flour for the butter and sugar. Of course, very old recipes for Seed Cake sometimes made more of a bread than a cake, and perhaps I was expecting a more Victorian product. I was tempted to add some mace or even vanilla (both of which are ingredients in other recipes for Seed Cake); I also used some ground caraway along with the whole seed. On the whole, this recipe as stated makes a pleasant somewhat sweet dense bread which is nice with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I had never gotten use out of the caraway seeds in my spice rack, so I searched this site for a recipe that utilized them. I made this super easy cake as an afterthought after cooking dinner one night. It tasted great! I think of it more as a sweet bread, and it's very tasty with butter. I'm glad to have added this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helpmecook82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
I had this cake as a child, it is excellent. All ages will enjoy this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Great cake. Require a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was very good, but where I come from this isn't exactly a cake and is a little too sweet to call a biscuit, but more like a big round scone. It is really good with coffee or tea, heated with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I've been making this for years - SOOO delicious! Not super sweet, which is something I love about it! Yes, the dough is quite stiff, so you need to use a spatula to scoop it out and spread it into your pan - but that's what's supposed to happen. It's best eaten in the first day or two or it gets stale - but if that happens, use it to make a trifle with! :-) One hint is not to go overboard with the caraway seeds. I also grind them in a coffee grinder before adding them - it makes them not quite such a surprise to bite into when you're eating your seed cake and makes the flavor all throughout the cake. I very often have people try to guess what flavors the cake and NO ONE ever can - they're always shocked to hear that it's caraway! And then they always ask for the recipe! :-) This one is absolutely one of my GO TO favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States