English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
These things are the tastiest things around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
My husband is Canadian and for the last 4 years I've heard him whining about butter tarts. Thank heavens I finally found this recipe. It's easy to whip up and he says they are exactly like the ones back home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Excellent butter tarts! Not too sweet, just perfect! Thanks for sharing. I couldn't find my gran's butter tart recipe and I'm sure this one must be it. An appsolute must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Wonderful tasting! The only thing I would note is to divide it into more than 12 tart shells as it tends to be too full and boils over. Perhaps 13 or 14 tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
These butter tarts were very good, just remember not to fill too much because they overflow. My husband and kids loved them and they didn't last too long. Made some with raisins and some with pecans. Had enough batter for almost 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Hi im 13 years old and me and my mom made some of these fabulous butter tarts they are absolutely amazing!! And i thought i would hate them because i hate raisons! So try this recipe i guarantee you will enjoy them!! By the way we doubled the recipe and this made 36 - 3 inch tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
These were good and had a nice consistancy. I would suggest adding a few tsp. vinegar to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These are PERFECT!! I gave this recipe to my mom last week and they're wonderful! She had frozen packs of tart shells (in 24's) and so she doubled the recipe and it was perfect. They were probably 3 inch shells. They taste absolutely like the bakery we had up the street when I was younger. She's going to try and modify the recipe and incorporate some pecans to give the tarts a slight crunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
These were super tasty! Just like the way my Grandmother always made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Don't let the fact that there is no butter in these tarts, or the "English" slant disuade you from trying this recipe. My shot at this came out perfect first crack. I cut back the raisins because 3/4 of a cup seemed like a lot. Next time, I'll follow the recipe. For a good tart shell I used "Best Pie Crust Ever" and cut circles with a plastic funnel. The tarts turned out tasting homemade and yummy. Some things are worth making yourself if the effort isn't too high, it doesn't take too long, and you get better than store-bought results. These tarts are a great example of this. Thanks, Priscilla, I'm hanging on to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States