English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
These were ok. Way too sweet for my taste. There was enough here to fill 18 2" tart shells. When these were done and cooled, there were little pools of shortening on the bottom of the tart tins and small cooled pools of it on top of the tarts. Didn't look very appealing. I will try another recipe next time, this was my first crack at making butter tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tried this recipe for the first time and it was fantastic! These tarts don't last long around my house and everybody raved about them. I've found that it takes a lot of work to make all of the shells by hand so I bought some prepared shells from the grocery store. One box of 12 shells suits this recipe perfectly. The second time I made them I doubled the recipe and used 3/4c of raisins and 3/4c of chopped pecans and again everybody raved! Be careful not to cook them too long so that they don't boil over in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
They were good but they boiled over for me therefore there was less filling in each tart that I had anticipated. Perhaps I left them in the oven too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
These were good, but not as good as my regular recipe that I found in a local cooking magazine. They lacked the added flavour that my regular recipe has (rum and some vinegar and real butter). I will stick with my old recipe and won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Don't let the fact that there is no butter in these tarts, or the "English" slant disuade you from trying this recipe. My shot at this came out perfect first crack. I cut back the raisins because 3/4 of a cup seemed like a lot. Next time, I'll follow the recipe. For a good tart shell I used "Best Pie Crust Ever" and cut circles with a plastic funnel. The tarts turned out tasting homemade and yummy. Some things are worth making yourself if the effort isn't too high, it doesn't take too long, and you get better than store-bought results. These tarts are a great example of this. Thanks, Priscilla, I'm hanging on to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
These were super tasty! Just like the way my Grandmother always made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These are PERFECT!! I gave this recipe to my mom last week and they're wonderful! She had frozen packs of tart shells (in 24's) and so she doubled the recipe and it was perfect. They were probably 3 inch shells. They taste absolutely like the bakery we had up the street when I was younger. She's going to try and modify the recipe and incorporate some pecans to give the tarts a slight crunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
These were good and had a nice consistancy. I would suggest adding a few tsp. vinegar to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Hi im 13 years old and me and my mom made some of these fabulous butter tarts they are absolutely amazing!! And i thought i would hate them because i hate raisons! So try this recipe i guarantee you will enjoy them!! By the way we doubled the recipe and this made 36 - 3 inch tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
These butter tarts were very good, just remember not to fill too much because they overflow. My husband and kids loved them and they didn't last too long. Made some with raisins and some with pecans. Had enough batter for almost 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States