English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
These are the yummiest butter tarts. Better than any I've ever had. I don't like raisens so I made them plain. They're just a little too runny. Not sure how to fix that but it's not a big deal once you taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIEPOO

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These are the best butter tarts I have ever eaten!!! I whipped the mixture until it had the consistency of pudding and left out the raisins (hubby doesn't like them) and they came out better than bakery fresh. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I tried to make these with real butter instead of shortening and they didn't come out too well. The flavor was great, but the consistency was poor. Also, as the recipe states, it's critical to make sure not to over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I am an amateur cook and I found this recipe very easy to make. Makes the perfect amount for 12 tarts and of course tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This was a fantastic recipe. My only complaint was they disappeared so quickly I have to make another double batch 2 days before Christmas! The only change I made to this recipe was I baked them at 325 for about 22-25 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
My family just loved the flavour of these Butter Tarts. I had to hide the rest for Christmas time. I doubled the recipe and it turned out just wonderful. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
These butter tarts were delicious. I found a double recipe made 24 nice size tarts. The only problem I had was I thought the shells were slightly wetter than they should be. I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
These were ok. Way too sweet for my taste. There was enough here to fill 18 2" tart shells. When these were done and cooled, there were little pools of shortening on the bottom of the tart tins and small cooled pools of it on top of the tarts. Didn't look very appealing. I will try another recipe next time, this was my first crack at making butter tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tried this recipe for the first time and it was fantastic! These tarts don't last long around my house and everybody raved about them. I've found that it takes a lot of work to make all of the shells by hand so I bought some prepared shells from the grocery store. One box of 12 shells suits this recipe perfectly. The second time I made them I doubled the recipe and used 3/4c of raisins and 3/4c of chopped pecans and again everybody raved! Be careful not to cook them too long so that they don't boil over in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
They were good but they boiled over for me therefore there was less filling in each tart that I had anticipated. Perhaps I left them in the oven too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States