English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Added pecans instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkji

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
these were soooooooo good i made them for a christmas party and they were gone within the hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Equals "The Ultimate" Butter Tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made these with butter of course! Have a nice flavour, not gooey like Canadian butter tart recipes but good overall. I got 22 3 inch tarts using 1 tbsp raisins in each tart and 1 tbsp of filling, they do really puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
They were a smidgen too runny, I had trouble getting them out of the muffins forms, the homemade dough was so flaky and so some of the middle ran out, which was kind of messy. I also baked them at lower temp, since my stove has the habbit of suddenly turning up the heat and therefore burn things. So maybe next time I'll add and extra egg to make it a bit firmer. Other than that, great taste, at least that's what my husband says. And he knows his butter tarts. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwabengirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
tastes great. This was a very easy recipe to follow. I cooked them for exactly 12 minutes. I used Crisco golden shortening which to me looks like butter.The tart shells were 3 inches not 2 inches. Only sold 3 inch shells at the store. The tarts were a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I added an extra egg as per previous review saying that it would make it less runny and only added raisins to half of the batch since I am not a big raisin fan. I also baked it at 350 degrees for 20 min. It tasted just as good as the ones sold at the store if not better. I thought that no one in my house would really eat it and I might end up throwing some of it out since many people in my house are very health. They were so good that within 2 days they were all gone, I will definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
mmmmm...Just ate one now still warm! Better than..! I have to say I was very skeptical of these. I am Canadian and usually the butter tart mix is thin and golden in colour. This was more like a cookie dough base, but I continued on. I had to use a little pancake syrup as I didn't quite have enough corn syrup. Just enough for 12 tarts ('used best ever pie crust', awesome) My husband laughed at me because he thought I must have left something out. They were white instead of the usual brownish colour,even re-read the recipe 3 times! Cooked for 15 minutes. Cautiously bit into one expecting the worst. WOW what a surprise! Sooo good and the maple syrup added a nice flavour too! A keeper to say the least:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Awsome, every body loved them i made a 24 batch and instead of 2 tsp vanilla i used only 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp rum extract. They were delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States