English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Really good recipe, super easy. They were the best butter tarts I ever tasted. Instead of raisins I used a mix of dried cherries and chopped pecans, yum! They are a bit runny but that's what makes them so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are SO good! I need easy and amazing recipes and this is one. My husband ate 8 in a sitting and he is not big on sweets. Don't put too much in each cup or they will overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This has been a fav. family recipe for years. Not a single year goes by without someone requesting it. The recipe is simple, and easy to follow. I add chopped pecans to mine, and boy what a hit. You have to try this recipe, it will knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great Butter Tart Recipe. I took the advice of the others and used butter and added an extra egg. I also put them in the mini tart shells - you can make close to 60 mini Butter Tarts with those. They were so yummy that my husband ate 6 in one sitting! They are easy to make and taste delicious!I look forward to making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
These butter tarts are the best I've ever tasted. I am the worst baker in existence but every year around this time I get the baking urge, put on my apron and give baking another try, usually with disastrous results. I made them with Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust (recipe on this site which is also a phenomenal recipe); together they turned out the best butter tarts I could ever imagine. We ate them hot from the oven; I don't know if we can wait till the rest cool. I can't believe I actually made them, they were so good! The substitutions I made were using a no sugar pancake syrup with Splenda instead of corn syrup because we're diabetic and the brown sugar was enough sugar for us thank you very much. LOL I also substituted butter for the shortening and used the two eggs so they wouldn't be runny. I whipped the entire mixture till it was frothy, used raisins and pecans, baking them at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes. I really liked this recipe because they were not overly sweet; though I'm not sure if that was because I substituted a no sugar syrup. At any rate, this recipe is a keeper and one I will pass along to my girls (and my son). Thank you ever so much 2doulas for sharing your amazing recipe with us. I know I'll have to make an extra batch tomorrow to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
WOW!!!! So read through the reviews first. I had frozen tart shells and wanted a treat for my children. I doubled the recipe for 24, omitted the raisins (as I didn't have any on hand), used regular corn syrup (on hand), beat till it was like pudding (as per one review) and baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Well I just had one still warm from the oven and AMAZING!! This will be my recipe forever now and will make often since its so simple. Thank you for posting this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlberniBCLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Added pecans instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkji

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
these were soooooooo good i made them for a christmas party and they were gone within the hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Equals "The Ultimate" Butter Tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States