English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
these were snapped up so fast, i barely had a chance to get one myself. so amazingly good!! would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These are great! However just a helpful tip: besure that the shortening is at room temperature otherwise there will be clumps. and clumps are bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Good taste, but I made it exactly as it said and they were really, really runny. Will try again, but alter to make 'thicker'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I tried out this recipe and it wasnt bad. It would have been helpful to know how much filling to put in each tart shell as they rise a lot..which meant it came spilling over making me lose half my filling. I did try this recipe several ways to see what worked best.. I tried the recipe with Crisco and 2 eggs and it came out tasting eggy..yuck! Then i tried it with butter and 1 egg..This i found, was the best modification..Its not too runny and its nice and buttery..I find butter more flavourful than Crisco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Amazing! I used corn oil instead of shortening and an addional cup of brown sugar and 1/8cup of water instead of corn syrup. It's also thanksgiving so I added 1/4 teaspoon of both cinnimon AND nutmag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Moose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Hi. I am the poster of this recipe. It cracks me up how many people say they are runny, as if that's a negative! Butter tarts cooked correct are supposed to be runny.....that's the sign of a good butter tart! Otherwise you may as well have raisin pie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxbow, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I would give these 10 stars if I could! Not only the BEST butter tarts but perhaps the best dessert I've ever eaten! Everyone who tried them fell in love...and had to eat several at a time! I love how the inside is kind of liquidy (compared to other butter tarts I've tried). The flavour is unbeatable! These things are highly addictive, I will now have to make them for every occasion!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Really good recipe, super easy. They were the best butter tarts I ever tasted. Instead of raisins I used a mix of dried cherries and chopped pecans, yum! They are a bit runny but that's what makes them so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are SO good! I need easy and amazing recipes and this is one. My husband ate 8 in a sitting and he is not big on sweets. Don't put too much in each cup or they will overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This has been a fav. family recipe for years. Not a single year goes by without someone requesting it. The recipe is simple, and easy to follow. I add chopped pecans to mine, and boy what a hit. You have to try this recipe, it will knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States