English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Just made these. I like that they're very easy to make and easy on the budget. I distributed the batter between the 12 shells and they completely bubbled over while cooking and became too flat and shallow once cooled. I'm not sure if I did something wrong here but I sure wish I knew. If I were to fill the shells up even less next time, they'd be even more shallow, which would then look like they're less than half full. I was hoping to have these tarts come out like the ones I bought at a local farm recently. Tastes good and all but the overall appearance of them isn't exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
These turned out BEAUTIFULLY!! Buttery and smooth! I'm not a fan of raisins, so I like that I could just add a few currants or even some dried cranberries instead. Lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geecko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was my first attempt at butter tarts ever. They were the best butter tarts I've had, they definitely didn't last long in my house. Great recipe and many thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. My family loved these tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Robertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
How can you go wrong with sugar and the more sugar! They are always a big hit! Take them all the time for a last minute potluck dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
EXCELLENT! Wow, these tasted incredible, and soooo easy to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
True English Butter tarts!!! Made 2 batches for a back sale and trying so hard not to eat them :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These are very good, but very runny, I will try baking them longer to thicken them. The flavour is great, it's hard to believe they are made with shortening instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I am determined to get this recipe right. It would be helpful if the poster of the recipe could recommend a crust to use with it. I have tried to make it 4 times now, with limited success. I haven't given up, and I will add 1/2 egg in the next attempt in an effort to reduce the runny-ness. And I mean this wholeheartedly: A butter tart is not supposed to have liquid syrup running out of it. I used the flaky butter crust recipe for the crust and made 6 larger tarts instead of 12 small tarts. I have discovered by trial and error that I must bake this crust twice. Bake for 15 minutes, cool, store in fridge overnight, bring to room temperature, bake another 20 minutes, and the crust becomes perfect. It's so inconvenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I've made these a few times and I don't change a thing, except the baking time. I usually bake them for a bit longer so they aren't too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States