English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe but I gave it a few tweaks. I found the quantities for 24 made enough for 36. I substituted butter for shortening (after all they are "butter" tarts!) and substituted 'golden syrup' for corn syrup which gives it an even more buttery flavour. I also added an extra egg (for the 24 amount) making it three eggs instead of two, so they wouldn't be too runny. I then baked them at 350 defrees F for approximately 20 minutes. I also increased the butter and the golden syrup slightly. I found they browned too much at 400 degrees because of the butter in them. They turned out beautifully. I have an excellent recipe handed down from my English/Scottish great grandmother, but it was hard to measure with the old weight measurements so combining this recipe with mine helped tremendously. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Hi. I am the poster of this recipe. It cracks me up how many people say they are runny, as if that's a negative! Butter tarts cooked correct are supposed to be runny.....that's the sign of a good butter tart! Otherwise you may as well have raisin pie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxbow, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Don't let the fact that there is no butter in these tarts, or the "English" slant disuade you from trying this recipe. My shot at this came out perfect first crack. I cut back the raisins because 3/4 of a cup seemed like a lot. Next time, I'll follow the recipe. For a good tart shell I used "Best Pie Crust Ever" and cut circles with a plastic funnel. The tarts turned out tasting homemade and yummy. Some things are worth making yourself if the effort isn't too high, it doesn't take too long, and you get better than store-bought results. These tarts are a great example of this. Thanks, Priscilla, I'm hanging on to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Hi im 13 years old and me and my mom made some of these fabulous butter tarts they are absolutely amazing!! And i thought i would hate them because i hate raisons! So try this recipe i guarantee you will enjoy them!! By the way we doubled the recipe and this made 36 - 3 inch tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These are the best butter tarts I have ever eaten!!! I whipped the mixture until it had the consistency of pudding and left out the raisins (hubby doesn't like them) and they came out better than bakery fresh. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tried this recipe for the first time and it was fantastic! These tarts don't last long around my house and everybody raved about them. I've found that it takes a lot of work to make all of the shells by hand so I bought some prepared shells from the grocery store. One box of 12 shells suits this recipe perfectly. The second time I made them I doubled the recipe and used 3/4c of raisins and 3/4c of chopped pecans and again everybody raved! Be careful not to cook them too long so that they don't boil over in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
These butter tarts were very good, just remember not to fill too much because they overflow. My husband and kids loved them and they didn't last too long. Made some with raisins and some with pecans. Had enough batter for almost 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I added an extra egg as per previous review saying that it would make it less runny and only added raisins to half of the batch since I am not a big raisin fan. I also baked it at 350 degrees for 20 min. It tasted just as good as the ones sold at the store if not better. I thought that no one in my house would really eat it and I might end up throwing some of it out since many people in my house are very health. They were so good that within 2 days they were all gone, I will definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
These are the yummiest butter tarts. Better than any I've ever had. I don't like raisens so I made them plain. They're just a little too runny. Not sure how to fix that but it's not a big deal once you taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIEPOO

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I tried to make these with real butter instead of shortening and they didn't come out too well. The flavor was great, but the consistency was poor. Also, as the recipe states, it's critical to make sure not to over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States